Don't understand my depot problem

Post bug reports and ask for support here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, PyleDriver

Post Reply
Nibelung
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:32 pm

Don't understand my depot problem

Post by Nibelung »

Pope (in Shiloh) is on the main grid (#211 for me), all troops are in supply. I have boats on the river, but the depot gave me no help for activation. Why that? And this is not the first time I have this kind of problems.

The rail is damaged (not destroyed), but anyway you can be supplied by a continuous link of regions, no?

Image
JanSorensen
Posts: 2536
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by JanSorensen »

The CSA probably raided your depot meaning you had less than 20 supply present. What you should do is build 3 depots with your AC. You can then disband those later when the front moves further south.
User avatar
PyleDriver
Posts: 5890
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Occupied Mexico aka Rio Grand Valley, S.Texas

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by PyleDriver »

Thats my first guess also Jan. AC's should have at least 2 depots, if theres a good Cav leader raiding then 3. If supply drops below 20 then the added initiative is gone...Keep your Cav screens up or trouble is sure to follow...

[8D]
Jon
Jon Pyle
AWD Beta tester
WBTS Alpha tester
WitE Alpha tester
WitW Alpha tester
WitE2 Alpha tester
Nibelung
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:32 pm

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by Nibelung »

I don't remember being raided and it shows that I have 20 supplies in the bottom panel. 
JanSorensen
Posts: 2536
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by JanSorensen »

It will show 20 supplies on the depot because it replenishes during your turn AFTER the check for initiative. Check the "e" report to see if any raiding happened. Other than that I cannot explain what happened.
JAMiAM
Posts: 6125
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 6:35 am

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by JAMiAM »

ORIGINAL: Nibelung

I don't remember being raided and it shows that I have 20 supplies in the bottom panel. 
Look at your "E" report from the previous turn. As long as you are producing sufficient supplies at the end of the turn, they will first go to "top off" any depots on the map. After that the supplies not used for unit production remain on the map in their production city. I had the same misunderstanding at first, until I saw that I was getting no "Depot Help" for my AC's that were sitting on depots showing 20 supplies - during my turn - until I started paying attention to the previous turn's raiding results.

Personally, I would like to see depots actually get destroyed if they are reduced below 20. In the case of multiple depots in a region, then destroy any that are not fully stocked. In other words, reduce the number of depots in a region to the number of full 20 SP multiples. Of course, this would require building (or rebuilding) a lot more depots, so to get the right overall effect. It might then be a good idea to tone down some of the more drastic results you see in the game, as soon as the players start building up decent-sized raiding groups, where you regularly have 100-150 supplies getting captured and destroyed each turn.
Nibelung
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:32 pm

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by Nibelung »

Image

Good guess, vets! Very confusing to players though. At least an icon on the depot saying it is not usable this turn should be added, this should not take much time to the team and would help.
User avatar
willgamer
Posts: 900
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2002 11:35 pm
Location: Huntsville, Alabama

RE: Don't understand my depot problem

Post by willgamer »

ORIGINAL: JAMiAM
Personally, I would like to see depots actually get destroyed if they are reduced below 20. In the case of multiple depots in a region, then destroy any that are not fully stocked. In other words, reduce the number of depots in a region to the number of full 20 SP multiples. Of course, this would require building (or rebuilding) a lot more depots, so to get the right overall effect. It might then be a good idea to tone down some of the more drastic results you see in the game, as soon as the players start building up decent-sized raiding groups, where you regularly have 100-150 supplies getting captured and destroyed each turn.


I second destroying depots that are reduced below 20 as a conservative fix to a problem that, while small in the overall scheme of things, is confusing to new players and annoying thereafter.[8|]

The sheer number of captured supplies seems historically excessive. I suggest it be reduced, with more supplies being destroyed. However I would also add a rule that whenever a depot is created a supply officer is created in the region. Troops can be assigned to this officer to reduce the effects of raids. This would nicely simulate the main effect of raids to draw down troops out of front line duties into security detachments. The effectiveness of the troops would depend both of their numbers, experience, troop type and (negatively) the success of previous raids. Unguarded supplies should yield even more supplies to raiders than the way it is now. [8D]
Nibelung said:
Good guess, vets! Very confusing to players though. At least an icon on the depot saying it is not usable this turn should be added, this should not take much time to the team and would help.

Short of the above... how about just tinting the existing depot red, if it is unusable.[:D]
Rex Lex or Lex Rex?
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”