Admiral's Edition General Thread

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

bradfordkay
Posts: 8471
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 8:39 am
Location: Olympia, WA

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by bradfordkay »

My guess is that the AE team is working on the game and not the utilities. Those who created the utilities will have to adapt their product to AE, I suppose...
fair winds,
Brad
User avatar
langley
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:23 pm
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, England.

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by langley »

If AE supports river traffic which I seem to remember it will, can you conduct air attacks against such traffic?
 
MJT
"My God, I hope you don't blame me for this. I had no idea where you were."
Air Vice-marshal Pulford upon the loss of "Force Z"
Woos
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:12 pm
Location: Germany

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Woos »

ORIGINAL: Toddr22

Will utilities like WITP [font=arial]import/export utility[/font][font=arial] (aka witpload) be usable with AE?[/font]

AFAIK a new version of witpload will be available and included. A new version of witpDecoder too.
Flying Tiger
Posts: 496
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:45 pm
Location: ummmm... i HATE that question!

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Flying Tiger »

If AE supports river traffic which I seem to remember it will, can you conduct air attacks against such traffic?
 
I would assume air attacks against river traffic would be the same as any other naval attack?
User avatar
Andrew Brown
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Hex 82,170
Contact:

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Andrew Brown »

ORIGINAL: langley

If AE supports river traffic which I seem to remember it will, can you conduct air attacks against such traffic?

MJT

Naval movement along rivers is the same as other naval movement, so yes you can.

Andrew
Information about my WitP map, and CHS, can be found on my WitP website

Image
User avatar
khyberbill
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: new milford, ct

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by khyberbill »

I do have one wish. And one wish only. In the old War in the Pacific from many years ago one could go from task force to task force with the N key. In this way, overlooked/forgotten task forces were found, orders amended/changed/given and life was good again on the high seas. If this can be done in WITP I havent figured out how. All I get is a listing of TF's instead of being able to actually go to the next one in numerical order. Thanks











"Its a dog eat dog world Sammy and I am wearing Milkbone underwear" -Norm.
User avatar
Charbroiled
Posts: 1181
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: Oregon

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Charbroiled »

ORIGINAL: khyberbill

I do have one wish. And one wish only. In the old War in the Pacific from many years ago one could go from task force to task force with the N key. In this way, overlooked/forgotten task forces were found, orders amended/changed/given and life was good again on the high seas. If this can be done in WITP I havent figured out how. All I get is a listing of TF's instead of being able to actually go to the next one in numerical order. Thanks

I think this was added under one of the recent patches. IIRC, if you isolate submarines under the ship list, the "N" key will cycle you through all of the submarines at sea. I had forgot about this feature and therefore don't use it, but I believe it is in WITP. I'll try it and let you know.












[/quote]
"When I said I would run, I meant 'away' ". - Orange
User avatar
Q-Ball
Posts: 7312
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Q-Ball »

Here is my one wish list:

I wish you could list all Japanese factories on ONE screen, regardless of location, and have a ON/OFF button for each of them.

Even better, a button for "Turn Off All Ki-43Ib production", etc.

Turning production on/off currently is a pain.
User avatar
khyberbill
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: new milford, ct

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by khyberbill »

thanks charbroiled, i will check this out in my next turn. have tried other methods. when one gets to my age a task force goes missing now and then.
"Its a dog eat dog world Sammy and I am wearing Milkbone underwear" -Norm.
User avatar
Don Bowen
Posts: 5171
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Georgetown, Texas, USA

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Don Bowen »

ORIGINAL: Charbroiled

ORIGINAL: khyberbill

I do have one wish. And one wish only. In the old War in the Pacific from many years ago one could go from task force to task force with the N key. In this way, overlooked/forgotten task forces were found, orders amended/changed/given and life was good again on the high seas. If this can be done in WITP I havent figured out how. All I get is a listing of TF's instead of being able to actually go to the next one in numerical order. Thanks

I think this was added under one of the recent patches. IIRC, if you isolate submarines under the ship list, the "N" key will cycle you through all of the submarines at sea. I had forgot about this feature and therefore don't use it, but I believe it is in WITP. I'll try it and let you know.

[/quote]

This feature was added to stock WITP in one of the 1.8 patches, using the ">" and "<" keys. Note that you could also use the un-shifted versions of "<" and ">" ("," and ".").

Select some subset of Task Forces using the Task Force screen (hot key "t'). Then you can cycle thru the TFs that match the criteria using "<"/"," and ">"/".". This feature is "sticky" so if you notice that the "<"/">" keys are not showing all your TFs, go back to the TF screen and adjust your settings.

The feature has been expanded slightly in AE. The shifted and unshifted variations of "<"/"," and ">"/"." now have slightly different meanings:
Shifted ("<" and ">") will display the next TF in the selection set WITH the Task Force screen being displayed.
Unshifted ("," and ".") will move to the next TF in the selection set WITHOUT the Task Force screen being displayed.




User avatar
rhohltjr
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2000 8:00 am
Location: When I play pacific wargames, I expect smarter AI.

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by rhohltjr »

Dan,

To what extent will AE be further moddable. It looks like AE will be pretty complete right out of the 'box', but since there are so many creative fans of Witp.... who knows. Aside from the engine of AE changing, are the other details of AE remaining similar to Witp?

In other words, will some of the art or sounds found on Spookys site for Witp still be usable in AE?

rhohltjr [:)]

My e-troops don't unload OVER THE BEACH anymore, see:
Amphibious Assault at Kota Bharu
TF 85 troops securing a beachhead at Kota Bharu, 51,75
whew! I still feel better.
User avatar
khyberbill
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: new milford, ct

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by khyberbill »

Thanks, I will give that a try. Still seems cumbersome compared to the old War.
"Its a dog eat dog world Sammy and I am wearing Milkbone underwear" -Norm.
User avatar
Don Bowen
Posts: 5171
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Georgetown, Texas, USA

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Don Bowen »

ORIGINAL: khyberbill

Thanks, I will give that a try. Still seems cumbersome compared to the old War.

Don't agree at all.

First, the N key is already used for something else (naval air groups). And "." is as easy to hit, being right there on the bottom key row.



User avatar
Don Bowen
Posts: 5171
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Georgetown, Texas, USA

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Don Bowen »

ORIGINAL: rhohltjr

Dan,

To what extent will AE be further moddable. It looks like AE will be pretty complete right out of the 'box', but since there are so many creative fans of Witp.... who knows. Aside from the engine of AE changing, are the other details of AE remaining similar to Witp?

In other words, will some of the art or sounds found on Spookys site for Witp still be usable in AE?

rhohltjr [:)]


Am I Dan??

If so, I can say that the art and sounds are still externalized so they can be moded. I can not say if the old WITP art/sounds will all work with AE.

Now before everyone piles on and asks for more data, I need to point out that no details are available until release.



User avatar
khyberbill
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:29 pm
Location: new milford, ct

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by khyberbill »

That works somewhat well. Not quite as smooth as the old WITP, the one with two week turns. But it helps alot. I get interrupted frequently when making a move and sometimes forget to give an order here or there. Has caused some disasters.
"Its a dog eat dog world Sammy and I am wearing Milkbone underwear" -Norm.
User avatar
rhohltjr
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2000 8:00 am
Location: When I play pacific wargames, I expect smarter AI.

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by rhohltjr »

ORIGINAL: Don Bowen

Am I Dan??

[:(]

I'm fraid so.
Thanks for the reply Don/Dan. [;)]
My e-troops don't unload OVER THE BEACH anymore, see:
Amphibious Assault at Kota Bharu
TF 85 troops securing a beachhead at Kota Bharu, 51,75
whew! I still feel better.
User avatar
Heeward
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 12:17 pm
Location: Lacey Washington

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by Heeward »

Dates and Sorting
&nbsp;
I would be nice for reinforcements we could&nbsp;view&nbsp;a the date of arrival&nbsp;& number ETA.&nbsp; Hornet arrives March 13, 1942 /&nbsp;95 days Panama City
&nbsp;
For the aircraft replacement screen I would like to set a default to sort by type and/or nationality vs availability date.
The Wake
User avatar
traskott
Posts: 1549
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:30 am
Location: Valladolid, Spain
Contact:

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by traskott »

A question about mods (RHS, Iron Storm and so ): Will they work or had to be rebuild from scratch ?&nbsp;
User avatar
treespider
Posts: 5781
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:34 am
Location: Edgewater, MD

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by treespider »

ORIGINAL: traskott

A question about mods (RHS, Iron Storm and so ): Will they work or had to be rebuild from scratch ?
rebuilt
Here's a link to:
Treespider's Grand Campaign of DBB

"It is not the critic who counts, .... The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena..." T. Roosevelt, Paris, 1910
User avatar
jwilkerson
Posts: 7833
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:02 am
Location: Kansas
Contact:

RE: Admiral's Edition General Thread

Post by jwilkerson »

Lots of cutting and pasting from excel version of old scenario to new will accelerate the process, we do have new version of witploadAE. But there are lots of new pieces of data in AE and there is no way to "auto populate" these fields, this will have to be done in the editor or excel.

James (author of editorX) has written us a whole new editor for AE and most of us can hardly image going back to the stock editor, the AE editor is much easier to use.

AE Project Lead
New Game Project Lead
Post Reply

Return to “War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition”