forge of freedom help

Here is the place to get and give support to your fellow gamers. This is NOT an official game support conference but a place for general tech support. All questions are welcomed, basic, advanced, software or hardware.
Post Reply
hogz4
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:31 pm

forge of freedom help

Post by hogz4 »

when I put CD1 in I gat a message that says Data error (cyclic redundancy check). please help
User avatar
Marc von Martial
Posts: 5292
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by Marc von Martial »

Sounds like a CRC error, the disk is either corrupt (scratched for example), dirty or simply a dud.

Have you been able to read it formerly, does it work on a different computer?
hogz4
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:31 pm

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by hogz4 »

Yes I was playing it about a week ago. We were having problems with our computer so I uninstalled it. When I went to install the game again that's the error I got. The game will work on my home computer.
Walloc
Posts: 3137
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Denmark

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by Walloc »

If the CD works on another computer sounds more like a bad CD- Rom drive/uncalibrated drive. That happend alot in the early days of CD drives, but its not some thing i have experienced or heard of in a number of years. U could read some Disks, but not others.
How old is the CD-Rom drive that give the CRC error?
If it isnt a DVD drive.
U said u have problem with ur puter, any thing that could have any effect on this. Meaning to do with CD-drive or like?
Changed drive?


Kind regards,

Rasmus
hogz4
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:31 pm

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by hogz4 »

The problem was with websites that has Adobe flash, they would never load. I uninstalled the game Thursday and backedup the computer til the Sunday before. The drive is a DVD drive on my laptop that is about 9 months old and runs Vista. The cd worked perfectly in my home PC.
Walloc
Posts: 3137
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Denmark

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by Walloc »

Ok. i'd consider it very rare, but since the CD works in another drive, it could be a calibration thing.

Since u mention flash problems my gut feeling would be that this could very well be the issue, cuz of the others have issues if flash wasnt installed or installed correctly.
U sure have adobe flash installed now? the game requires it for the start up video's IIRC so its a necessity. Some what back in time ppl had issues with the game less thay had all the adobe stuff correctly installed IIRC.
I'd be sure to check that. I have a vague recollection about Eric(the designer) making a exe that didnt need flash. U might wana ask in the dedicated support forum for the game for that.


If its a calibration thing only see 2 possible remedies.
Clean the CD extra well.
Try and burn the CD and see if another disk will work, possibly burned it to a DVD-RW disk and see if that works. Its possible that it will help if its calibration thing, but its not a sure fire thing.
Is it only this CD or u experienced this before with other CD(not DVD) disks?
If its a calibration thing u'd normally see the problem with other disks too even if its only 1 in 10 that doesnt work.


Kind regards,

Rasmus
hogz4
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:31 pm

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by hogz4 »

I went to the adobe website and installed the latest flash player.
Walloc
Posts: 3137
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Denmark

RE: forge of freedom help

Post by Walloc »

Since u apparently not the only one having problems with FoF and vista combo i suggest u look in that thread too.

tm.asp?m=1735724

Kind regards,

Rasmus
Post Reply

Return to “Unofficial Tech Support By Gamers for Gamers”