I can not publish my mod

Please post here for questions and discussion about data, event, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderator: MOD_DW2

Post Reply
zgrssd
Posts: 5075
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

I can not publish my mod

Post by zgrssd »

I made a mod. I was annoyed about mining Ranges growing over time - so I made this mod to make them all equal. I attached it for easier troubleshooting.

I am trying to upload it, following the orders in the video resulting in this command line:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Distant Worlds 2\DistantWorlds2.exe" --ugc-publish mods/EqualMiningRanges
But upon entering this in the command line, nothing happens. A short appearance of the "working" Windows counter, then silence.
I double checked on steams side, but nothing has been uploaded there.
Attachments
EqualMiningRanges.zip
(2.47 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
frankycl
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 5:16 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by frankycl »

I think (but don't know for sure) you need also a .json-file in the mods-folder - in this file Steam will write a numeric code for your mod after the up-/download. - Or had you already tried this, too ?

(I only know sure for downloads, but not for uploads :| )
zgrssd
Posts: 5075
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by zgrssd »

frankycl wrote: Mon Mar 13, 2023 9:57 pm I think (but don't know for sure) you need also a .json-file in the mods-folder - in this file Steam will write a numeric code for your mod after the up-/download. - Or had you already tried this, too ?

(I only know sure for downloads, but not for uploads :| )
I have a mod.json. It is in the uploaded zip file.

The mod ID should be assigned by Steam and updated kept for future uploads of updated versions.
Turk1701
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 12:09 am
Location: South Beloit, Il
Contact:

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by Turk1701 »

You may need an image. I don't think it adds the workshopId automatically. You need to add the workshopId after you successfully publish it on Steam. That way it will update any changes instead of adding a new mod.

And it may need all the fields filled in, except for workshopId on first publish.

Code: Select all

{
	"displayName": "",
	"shortDescription": "",
	"descriptionFile": "",
	"previewImage": "",
	"version": "",
	"bundles": [],
	"workshopId": 
}
"I don't mind if you don't like my manners. I don't like them myself. They're pretty bad. I grieve over them on long winter evenings."-Philip Marlowe
AKicebear
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by AKicebear »

I think you need to omit the workshopid line the first time you upload, as you have no id. Afterwards you must add it. At least that was a solution to a similar problem I had.
zgrssd
Posts: 5075
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by zgrssd »

I modified the mod.json to look like this:

Code: Select all

{
	"displayName": "Equal Mining Ranges",
	"shortDescription": "Sets the ranges of all mining Components to the highest value",
	"descriptionFile": "",
	"previewImage": "",
	"version": "1.1.2.4",
	"bundles": [],
}
Still nothing on trying to upload it.

I can try the image next, once I find some placeholder to put there.
Attachments
EqualMiningRanges.zip
(2.56 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
AKicebear
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by AKicebear »

Try deleting the lines with no information - bundle, preview image and description file. I don't use any of those in mine.
zgrssd
Posts: 5075
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by zgrssd »

AKicebear wrote: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:42 pm Try deleting the lines with no information - bundle, preview image and description file. I don't use any of those in mine.
Still nothing on this:

Code: Select all

{
	"displayName": "Equal Mining Ranges",
	"shortDescription": "Sets the ranges of all mining Components to the highest value",
	"version": "1.1.2.4",
}
Could you give me a file you are using? Might help me figure out what is missing.
AKicebear
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by AKicebear »

Mine uses just "description", not "shortDescription"
User avatar
iancmtaylor
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by iancmtaylor »

comma on last line is telling it that there is a following item, delete the last comma
I am /u/SharkMolester, moderator of /r/DistantWorlds and BFHKitteh, admin of https://dw2.fandom.com/wiki/Distant_Worlds_2_Wiki.
zgrssd
Posts: 5075
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by zgrssd »

It was not either of those either

Code: Select all

{
	"displayName": "Equal Mining Ranges",
	"description": "Sets the ranges of all mining Components to the highest value",
	"version": "1.1.2.4"
}
Please, I need a known good example for a mod.json.

Now I went all the way back to the base version, but still nothing. A short busy indicator, that is it:

Code: Select all

{
"displayName": "Equal Mining Ranges",
"version": "1.0.0",
"bundles": []
}
AKicebear
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by AKicebear »

Here is the one for my Blackness mod:

Code: Select all

{
	"displayName": "Blackness",
   	"description": "Eliminates the milky way swirl in the background. Makes it easier to distinguish meaningful map elements, especially nebula.  Note: you may need to start a new game for the effect to work. Sometimes it works on saves from before, sometimes not. *shrug*  Based on Rebelkid's mod: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2941146150",
	"previewImage": "Blackness.jpg",
    	"version": "1.1.2.4"

}
User avatar
rxnnxs
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:25 am
Location: what goes on
Contact:

Re: I can not publish my mod

Post by rxnnxs »

I guess you have managed to do it already, didn't you?

This would be a way to start:
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 9&t=407907

There it is explained. If you want more help, I can write it down here.

you need your own mod. Then, you start in the distant worlds folder a command interface.
There you write this:
DistantWorlds2.exe --ugc-publish Q:\DW2\mods\yourmodname\ --ugc-dont-open
This will create the new mod of yours on steam

When you want to update (you have to do it once, because before you did not know your steam id of the workshop)

do this to refresh
DistantWorlds2.exe --ugc-publish Q:\DW2\mods\yourmodname\ --ugc-id 3393130667 --ugc-dont-open

BEFORE you refresh:
you write into the mod.json of yours:

Code: Select all

{
  "displayName": "yourmod",
  "shortDescription": "this is my explanation",
  "version": "0.0.1",
  "previewImage": "myjpgorpng.png",
  "workshopId": 99999999
} 
And the id is the one you got when you first uploaded.

You are done :-)
Post Reply

Return to “Design and Modding”