INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post bug reports and ask for tech support here.

Moderator: Gil R.

Post Reply
wegman58
Posts: 460
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Edina, MN (FROM the Bronx)

INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by wegman58 »

I recently bought a new computer, high end Windows 10 Dell Desktop. Up to date.

I'm reinstalling my Matrix Games. Did Forge of Freedom this morning.

Installation went fine, no issues there.

Hit PLAY. Started loading, got the typical change in Display Resolution common with older games, starts humming along, first screen then nothing. Program ends

Tried the old standby, did the compatibility check (right click icon), Program worked in earlier versions..., picked Windows 7 (worked for another game), same pattern.
Bill Goin
ThomasJay
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 11:36 am

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by ThomasJay »

After reading this I just installed on my lenovo legion win10 laptop. Used recommended compatibilty (Vista)for both the installer and game.exe. The opening graphics are messed up but the game seems to run fine other than the fixed screen resolution.
I can't download the update though, it directs me to a blank ftp page.
wegman58
Posts: 460
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Edina, MN (FROM the Bronx)

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by wegman58 »

Set the 'worked with' to Vista. Still no joy.
Bill Goin
ThomasJay
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 11:36 am

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by ThomasJay »

Sorry to hear that, it's apparently not a Win10 issue though, something with the graphics card settings maybe? Hopefully someone much more knowledgeable than me will come along or support will be able to help.
hapshott
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:32 pm

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by hapshott »

Hello, I have the same problem. The thing is that I played it in the past on this PC. It suddenly doesn't start anymore.

I tried all compatibility modes. I also tried dxwnd, dgvodoo and ddraw fixes. But nothing works. It loads and when the blue bar is at 100% it just closes the program.

Crown of glory, which is almost identical to fof works fine.

I'm open to other suggestions. So if someone has it running on windows 10 (20h2)....

Best regards,

Hapshott
hapshott
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:32 pm

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by hapshott »

There is an update on your "MY PAGE". Use this to install FoF. It runs great again.

Many thanks for the patch

best regards,

Hapshott
User avatar
milkweg
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:06 am

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by milkweg »

FoF requires Flash installed to run. Does this patch remove that requirement?
User avatar
WallysWorld
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

RE: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by WallysWorld »

Yes, the 2021 patch removes the need for Flash to run the main menu videos. The game runs just fine for me.
User avatar
DEB
Posts: 691
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:39 pm
Location: Bristol , England

Re: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by DEB »

It's my 65th birthday today, and I have finally just finished installing this game on my Win. 7 ( 64 bit ) Laptop.

The initial install ( yesterday ) went well, but to my horror the game crashed just as it finished loading. My O/S was apparently missing a flash.ocx file...

After a few hours of browsing the internet for solutions and finding out that a flash32.ocx file from my Vista O/S would not work ; I decided to visit this forum ( although it was more in hope than expectation ). :(

After reading a few posts I noted here that there was a patch :o that should fix my issue. And it worked too !!! :D

Thank you Matrix Games.
User avatar
altipueri
Posts: 998
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:09 am

Re: INSTALLED FINE, WON'T RUN

Post by altipueri »

How are you finding it?

I have had it 10 years or so but never really got into it.

I think it a pity you can not just play the battles part separate from the strategy.
Post Reply

Return to “Forge of Freedom - Support”