UI Clarity Mod V1.0 - Targeting and Icon update

Moderator: Vic

tonechild

UI Clarity Mod V1.0 - Targeting and Icon update

Post by tonechild »

Hi all,

Been a long time lurker of the forums and appreciate a lot of the graphic mods shared so I thought I'd contribute a mod I've personally been using to make things a bit more clear to understand at a glance. This is not a major overhaul of the graphics but just some minor tweaks. I'm not a graphics artist but have had some exposure to UX design. I didn't do too much outside of using some basic (mostly coloring) tools with GIMP.

The spirit of this mod is to make things easier to read but not straying too far from the original design. You also can combine some of the items with other UI mods should there not be any conflicts.

NOTE: Some of the screenshots below also include the Terrain Mod by mroyer(because I love it!!!), this mod does not contain any terrain changes and the features shown are for non-terrain elements. Some just happen to have terrain as part of the screenshot to help with context.

Download link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5sjc0nt1o139 ... uGdna?dl=0

To download, select the link above, then select which of the sub-mods you want or select "Everything" to get everything. Whichever one you picked, there will be a "GraphicsAlt" folder inside, copy that folder into the location of your shadow empires installation.

NEW Icon Clarity
A few icons have been updated, including a few resource icons and QOL icons. On the map, resources now appear within a circular emblem, enhancing their visibility. Additionally, the QOL icons have been redesigned to more effectively communicate their significance through contemporary, descriptive iconography.

Metal resources and rare metals now resemble ingots.
Recruits icon updated to no longer have that white outline that made it seem like a copy paste error (at least to me)
Hitech icon changed from a calculator to a microchip