deManglers First Try at an AAR

Moderator: Vic

deMangler

Post by deMangler »

**This game is finished now. Can't wait to do the next one**

This is probably more of a journal of how a game progresses with some insight into what goes on in my head, rather than a proper AAR.

Images and saves will be added, and posts edited lots probably as I learn how to format things etc. I am pretty new at this, I feel, even though I have over 200 hours playtime I still have not won a game, so it might be a bit random - hope that is ok.
Hopefully there will also be a more storified .pdf, with some more fleshed out character arcs and backstory available here when I have finished it.

Anyway - hopefully something entertaining to do while the AI is thinking.

I am just going to do Unclassified Planet, Small-Normal size, with random history, drop-me-in-a-game.

Code: Select all

Fog of War:          Complete
 Human Players:       1
 Initial Zones:       City State
 Initial Armies:      Militia Only
 Story Modules:       All
 Tech level:          3 with Air Force enabled
 Development Speed:   Normal
 Organisation level:  Supreme Command Council only
 Difficulty Level:    Regular

Here is how the planet turned out...

Starting Fates are 1000 Credits, 50 Political Points, Militia Loss of Faith and Ancient Archive.
Starting Strategems are Recruit Merc, Recruit Junior, Incr Income Tax, Decr Income Tax, Send Spy, Open Contact and Church of Syndic.

Now I am going to look over the reports and see what the staff is like....

**Prologue**

deMangler stared at the piles of disorganised paperwork on his desk.
'This is not my paperwork', a part of him kept protesting.
'This is now my paperwork', another, smaller, part of him kept responding.
The intermittent rhythmic thumping was not helping him think, but it was very atmospheric in a 'gently rub your temples and try to focus', kind of way - which was good because that is what he was doing.