Preserving Digital Gaming History

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

RyanCrierie

Preserving Digital Gaming History

Post by RyanCrierie »

===VERSION HISTORY===
>>Version 1.0 -- 28 September 2022<<
>>Version 1.1 -- 19 February 2024<<

I've been doing this project on and off since about 2016, trying to preserve as much digital gaming history as I can before it's lost.

Be prepared, there's gonna be a lot of:

Some background:

I'm in my forties, so I was pretty young and 'in' the scene(s) back in the day of the late 1990s and early 2000s when so many things were going on:

Operation Flashpoint: FFUR, and tons of stuff like that.

Space Empires IV/V; tons of mods going on, etc.

Steel Panthers; the early releases of Steel Panthers: WAW by Matrix and the SPCAMO DOS versions of WW2 and MBT.

Close Combat; tons of mods, especially for Close Combat III such as RealRed, etc.

European Air War; tons of new things, like modding the game totally to play on the Eastern Front:

or to the Deserts of North Africa:

NWS was doing NWP for Fleet Command and Fighting Steel...

Well now; it's 2022, about twenty five years later, and...

The internet is terrifying in its seeming permanence, coupled with its impermanence.

"I've seen things you people wouldn't believe... Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion... I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain... Time to die."

Websites last for 20 years (Rugged Defense for The Operational Art of War [TOAW]) and then disappear.

Websites die when the owner dies and he can't renew the web hosting from the grave, resulting in the website becoming a dead spam-filled honeytrap.