Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Ground Unit Losses

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> Ground Unit Losses Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Ground Unit Losses - 10/1/2021 5:55:45 PM   
spence

 

Posts: 5383
Joined: 4/20/2003
From: Vancouver, Washington
Status: offline
Say a ground unit of is all but wiped out but some tiny fragment of it is carted away by submarine or whatever. Does the other side get some measure of victory points or since that fragment can ultimately be rebuilt completely (assuming enough replacements to do so) does the other side get nothing?

< Message edited by spence -- 10/1/2021 5:56:21 PM >
Post #: 1
RE: Ground Unit Losses - 10/1/2021 6:00:50 PM   
Nomad


Posts: 5723
Joined: 9/5/2001
From: West Yellowstone, Montana
Status: online
As per the manual:

Ground Units Destroyed:
»» Allied ground unit items (squads, vehicles, or guns):
»» Philippine and Chinese: 1 VP for every 12 items destroyed
»» Soviet: 1 VP for every 6 items destroyed
»» All Other Allied: 1 VP for every 3 items destroyed
»» Japanese ground unit items (squads, vehicles, or
guns): 1 VP for every 6 items destroyed

(in reply to spence)
Post #: 2
RE: Ground Unit Losses - 10/1/2021 6:07:12 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 17863
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline
I don't think replacing the destroyed squads and other devices wipes out the VPs for the destruction. After all, replacing losses drains the country's ability to create and fill out other units with the manpower/supply/HI involved.


_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to spence)
Post #: 3
RE: Ground Unit Losses - 10/1/2021 6:10:35 PM   
USSAmerica


Posts: 18617
Joined: 10/28/2002
From: Graham, NC, USA
Status: online
The VP are not awarded for each LCU that is completely destroyed, but for unit items (devices and squads) that are destroyed. The fact that a fragment might survive doesn't impact it other than the few devices and squads that "got away".

_____________________________

Mike

"Good times will set you free" - Jimmy Buffett

"They need more rum punch" - Me


Artwork by The Amazing Dixie

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> Ground Unit Losses Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.496