From: Madrid, Spain
I agree with Paul on this.
Surprise bonuses are applied depending on the defending units (surprise) status.
Rule 15.0 (RAW7) make it clear what this status is.
"Major powers and minor countries are surprised when a major power declares war on them, even if they are at war with someone else.
However they are not surprised by a major power or minor country they are currently at war with.
Furthermore, they are not surprised by land or aircraft units attacking from, or flying over, hexes controlled by a major power or minor country at war with them last impulse."
As for the example in the original post, the last sentence applies here. The German aircraft flew from Germany, of which Germany was at war with France the previous impulse. Hence, the units being attacked are not surprised.
Attacking units don't claim surprise, it's a status applied to the defender, so any other units participating in the attack do not receive surprise bonuses, because the defending units are not surprised!!
The rule says those units are not surprised by GE (in this case) but those criteria don't apply to IT, which is effectively surprising FR, so IT units do surprise France.
The rule doesnt say anytime that surprised is an attribute of the attacker or the defender, it points to the relation between them.
Hence, the units being attacked are not surprised.
(by GE but yes by IT)
< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 8/9/2021 3:22:14 PM >