Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

LCs and (just) captured ports

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> WarPlan >> LCs and (just) captured ports Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
LCs and (just) captured ports - 8/1/2021 3:34:06 PM   
Nirosi

 

Posts: 1716
Joined: 9/17/2017
Status: online
Hi,

Can anyone help/confirm with this? Normally we can land in a friendly hex by using LCs. However, here the US unit can not land in Cherbourg. Obviously it is normally possible to do so from the beach attached to the coastal (as I did take the empty port with a US unit from that same hex the action just before).

Could it be that one can not use LC to land in a friendly port no matter what (even if not operational yet as a port)?

If so, I would suggest if it can be changed in a future patch. If not it would mean a little strangely that with LCs one can land in enemy ports, enemy beaches/coastal, friendly beaches/coastal; but not... friendly, under repair, ports. It is strange to be able to use LCs do it while the enemy is there, but not the day after and having to wait about two weeks.




Attachment (1)
Post #: 1
RE: LCs and (just) captured ports - 8/1/2021 4:15:43 PM   
stjeand


Posts: 1414
Joined: 1/10/2021
From: Aurora, NC
Status: offline
I have never tested this...

I don't remember being able to land using LC on friendly territory except the first turn as I suspect the territory is not "owned" until the turn ends.

(in reply to Nirosi)
Post #: 2
RE: LCs and (just) captured ports - 8/2/2021 1:11:29 AM   
Villain

 

Posts: 84
Joined: 2/23/2011
Status: offline
Appears to be working as per the manual.

Page 68
Transport/Invasion Fleet—This is any fleet with a land or air unit. This fleet may not attack other fleets but does defend vs attacks. They may disembark a land or air unit at any supplied port. Ports are not considered in supply the first turn they are captured. They can use landing craft to invade enemy beach and coastal hexes or disembark at any friendly coast.

Page 66
Invade—The invade toggle lights up available landing locations: red if an invasion landing hex (enemy controlled) and green if a disembark landing hex (friendly control without a port).

(in reply to stjeand)
Post #: 3
RE: LCs and (just) captured ports - 8/2/2021 1:38:45 AM   
Nirosi

 

Posts: 1716
Joined: 9/17/2017
Status: online
Hum... ok thanks Villain. Good to know.

Still, i would allow it if one is willing to spend the LC. Strange that we can do it in an hex under nominal enemy control, but not our control. And also that no such particularity exists for non-port coastal.

Could be a balance of play thing however...

(in reply to Villain)
Post #: 4
RE: LCs and (just) captured ports - 8/2/2021 2:20:28 AM   
Nirosi

 

Posts: 1716
Joined: 9/17/2017
Status: online
Hum... even more strange a situation. I could easily instead have re-landed in the adjacent hex again (that I had also just captured that same tunr), and then just move in. But could not do it the adjacent hex to this one, captured that same turn, just because it has a.. port.

To be honest it did not change much in that particular example, but still seems curious...

< Message edited by Nirosi -- 8/2/2021 1:45:48 PM >

(in reply to Nirosi)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> WarPlan >> LCs and (just) captured ports Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.234