Wow, awesome. This has been happening for ..always. I assumed it was a feature :)
So, I guess in my example, 2 chinese corps are exerting a ZOC on the hex SW of Tsinan, so that should remain chinese but the hex South of Tsinan may flip because there is only a weak ZOC there?
Correct, this is exactly what should have been happening, and was coded to behave this way, but there was as mentioned a bug in there and as a result likely behaving in game incorrectly (as you've noted above) since near the beginning of this series.
This is a "you win the prize" bug find as it is probably a 5 year old bug, at least, that hasn't been properly caught up until now.
I should add, and just to clarify the full setup in the code/rules, that if there was let's say a city (hypothetically) that your Chinese units held two hexes directly south of Tsinan, that city would also prevent the hex directly south of Tsinan from flipping back to Japanese control as well.
So, ZoC would prevent the automatic flipping back, as well as any two conflicting resources that are fighting over empty adjacent hexes, e.g. whomever controls that hex in conflict maintains control until it is either directly captured, or the conflicting town/city is captured as well.
< Message edited by Hubert Cater -- 7/6/2021 2:47:10 PM >