Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/20/2021 4:03:45 AM   
BlindGuyNW

 

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/2/2015
Status: offline
Hi ALl,

So I'm trying to understand how sea areas work, particularly concerning convoys and related matters. I'd appreciate it if anyone could tell me whether the below is accurate.

Sea areas are named, Hawaiian Islands, or Red Sea, for instance. They are made up of hex dots, which are more or less just like hexes except they are explicitly not for land units.

Each sea area has a concept of "sea boxes." Sea boxes are used to position units for search and combat purposes. The location of sea boxes is abstract, in that it doesn't have any relation to the hex dots.

Convoys are positioned in sea areas. As far as I understand it, the exact hex dots a convoy occupies aren't important, since they are notionally always in sea box 0 anyway.

Therefore, as far as I know I don't have to line convoys up hex dot by hex dot to trace routes across large sea areas, I just have to make sure the number of convoy points in each area is sufficient. For instance, in Global War, the U.S. has setup rules about the convoys to Japan, but the exact dots those convoys occupy doesn't appear to matter.

Is this about right? :)

Thanks all,
Zack.
Post #: 1
RE: Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/20/2021 8:09:54 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 2308
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
Yes. All of what you mentioned is correct.

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 5/20/2021 8:10:43 AM >

(in reply to BlindGuyNW)
Post #: 2
RE: Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/21/2021 7:06:18 AM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3952
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: offline
The program actually implements which sea box a naval unit is in by exactly where it is on the map. Each side has a 5 sea boxes in each sea area (0, 1, 2, 3, 4), usually in a straight line, although sometimes (for example, in the Baltic, where there isn't room) it is not. All of a sides units in a particular sea box will be in the same hex. Thus all of one sides convoys, for example, will always be in the same box in a sea area.

MWiF does not ask (or allow) you to place naval units in specific hex dots in a sea area; rather, when you move naval units to a sea area, MWiF will ask you which sea boxes they are going in, and puts them there.

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 3
RE: Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/25/2021 10:12:53 PM   
ashkpa


Posts: 1507
Joined: 1/16/2014
Status: offline
I also believe the location of the sea boxes does determine which weather zone is applied to that sea zone for naval combat. That may not make a difference in MWIF, but it does in a few areas of the actual board game (particularly for coastal hexes).

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 4
RE: Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/27/2021 9:59:31 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 2308
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: ashkpa

I also believe the location of the sea boxes does determine which weather zone is applied to that sea zone for naval combat. That may not make a difference in MWIF, but it does in a few areas of the actual board game (particularly for coastal hexes).


In the board game, the weather is determined per weather area, the sea areas included are all with the same climate, and there is no difference in the weather whether you are in box one or box 3 within that sea.

What matters is the weather modifier, depending of the penalisation of the box, which is related to (box penalisation number and) weather which varies depending of position, but the climate is the same.

Both aspects are treated here just like in the board game.

I hope I understanding you well and addressing correctly the comment.

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 5/27/2021 10:00:04 AM >

(in reply to ashkpa)
Post #: 5
RE: Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch - 5/31/2021 9:50:11 PM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 3191
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
Normally WiF has 2 introductory scenarios to begin learning the rules systems. Barbarossa, for air & land combat, and Guadalcanal, for the full air/land/sea combo.

But probably the simplest way to learn how sea zones and naval combat work with units-on-map would actually be the Barbarossa scenario, which would only use 2 zones, that aren’t connected, and minimal naval units on each side.

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 6
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> Check my Understanding of Hexes and Sea Areas and SUch Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.180