Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

A few newbie questions in terms of grand strategy

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command Series >> Strategic Command WWII: World at War >> A few newbie questions in terms of grand strategy Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A few newbie questions in terms of grand strategy - 5/4/2021 3:56:03 PM   
Alcibiades73

Hi, I had a few questions as a complete newb after playing the main Axis campaign up till the eve of Barbarossa and terminating the campaign in frustration:

1. What are you supposed to do as Japan - especially vis-a-vis China? Japan has no tanks or mechanized infantry to start out with, and hence no multi-strike unit. So it just seems that you just get bogged down in China, and there is no real soft spot to push through in China's human wave defensive line. If Japan struggles this much against China as the only enemy, I cannot imagine how it will go when the U.S. and the U.K. join the fun - which prompts me to ask the next question.

2. Is there any way to avoid fighting the U.S. as Japan?

3. If you must fight the U.S. as Japan, is a repeat of the Pearl Harbor attack necessary?

4. Is an early thrust into the Soviet Far East as Japan - in conjunction with Barbarossa - advisable?

5. Germany, in contrast to Japan, seems more straightforward and easier, except the issue of Afrika Korps: Namely, given that they spawn in southern Europe - rather than Africa - is it worthwhile to assign them their historical role and send them to Libya? Or better to throw them at Barbarossa?

6. Also for Germany, is Sea Lion - especially for a newb like myself - feasible?

Edit: Forgot to ask: