Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Southern Front, trigger or not in t1?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2 >> Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 6:08:11 AM   
Medicusa

 

Posts: 48
Joined: 9/24/2019
Status: offline
Hi,
I wonder about the russian southern front trigger. If you dont trigger it, wouldnt that mean you cannot pocket some soviet units around Lvov? I first thought the southern front is south but turns out it is far north of Lvov. So in the case of not triggering this and southern front remains locked, wouldnt I pocket in sum less? I am not even sure I can pocket the southern front. Does anyone have insight in this?

And yes, I know you can take Lvov without triggering this first turn hex.

And lets say u can somehow get anything out of not triggering southern front. Could I still pocket the units around Lvov in later turns by flying Interdiction there to slow them down? I assume that a hard interdiction can cost them 1-2mp per hex which might give me that chance. But does it work and at what cost?
Post #: 1
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 6:13:26 AM   
Medicusa

 

Posts: 48
Joined: 9/24/2019
Status: offline
One more thing, the text in the manual is still wrong/confusing, is it?
"If a Soviet national hex south or east of 187,187 (just
southeast of Lvov) is Axis controlled then all of Southern
Front and related airbases will be unfrozen."

"south or east" should mean "south AND east"? To be crystal clear, if I go any hex 187+ regardless the hight I won`t trigger it. So if I magically teleport to Moscow on turn 1 it is still not triggered, right?

(in reply to Medicusa)
Post #: 2
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 12:23:23 PM   
Bamilus


Posts: 972
Joined: 4/30/2010
From: The Old Northwest
Status: online
Its south and east, so teleporting to Moscow wouldnt trigger it. Imagine a line drawn south of the hex and a line drawn east out of it. You cant be on those lines or within the box they form. You can still surround Lvov but you have to be careful because the trigger is not just a unit occupying a hex, but any hex you convert (which can be done via ZOC on empty hexes).

< Message edited by Bamilus -- 4/24/2021 12:25:48 PM >


_____________________________

Paradox Interactive Forum Refugee

(in reply to Medicusa)
Post #: 3
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 12:34:38 PM   
Medicusa

 

Posts: 48
Joined: 9/24/2019
Status: offline
But taking Lvov is not triggering ist right? I only need to win the Lvov battle and get the city on turn 1 and nothing is triggered.

But back to the first question, is it worth avoiding?

(in reply to Bamilus)
Post #: 4
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 12:38:28 PM   
Bamilus


Posts: 972
Joined: 4/30/2010
From: The Old Northwest
Status: online
Lvov isn't on the line i mentioned or crosses, so no. You can take it with no issue. I typically take Lvov and push units south to the west of it to trap units west. Then i push panzers north and east of Lvov to set up the larger pocket with 11th army and 3rd romanian on turn 2.

_____________________________

Paradox Interactive Forum Refugee

(in reply to Medicusa)
Post #: 5
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 12:39:22 PM   
loki100


Posts: 10705
Joined: 10/20/2012
From: Utlima Thule
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Medicusa

But taking Lvov is not triggering ist right? I only need to win the Lvov battle and get the city on turn 1 and nothing is triggered.

But back to the first question, is it worth avoiding?


nope, you can Lvov and the terrain around it

utterly depends, its doable, there is a reward, its worth it if it fits your strategy, its not if it doesn't

Usually the Soviet Ukrainian forces will fall apart from T6-9 in any case, if you drive east that can yield a lot of VP as you are well placed to feast on the carcass. A big border pocket on T2 may hasten this by a turn or so, but equally your mobile assets are - by definition - in the SW of the Ukraine

_____________________________


(in reply to Medicusa)
Post #: 6
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 6:40:11 PM   
Jango32

 

Posts: 229
Joined: 3/15/2021
Status: online
I believe this is the border region of the box that you must not cross into to prevent Southern Front's activation, correct? The hexes with the horizontal line going through their center, and all the hexes that I've started highlighting on the left.


It should be fine to go through the Zborov-Tarnopol-Proskurov line of hexes.




Attachment (1)

(in reply to Bamilus)
Post #: 7
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 6:57:30 PM   
loki100


Posts: 10705
Joined: 10/20/2012
From: Utlima Thule
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jango32

I believe this is the border region of the box that you must not cross into to prevent Southern Front's activation, correct? The hexes with the horizontal line going through their center, and all the hexes that I've started highlighting on the left.


It should be fine to go through the Zborov-Tarnopol-Proskurov line of hexes.

...


yes that is it exactly

_____________________________


(in reply to Jango32)
Post #: 8
RE: Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? - 4/24/2021 7:03:45 PM   
OberGeneral

 

Posts: 205
Joined: 10/9/2018
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jango32

I believe this is the border region of the box that you must not cross into to prevent Southern Front's activation, correct? The hexes with the horizontal line going through their center, and all the hexes that I've started highlighting on the left.


It should be fine to go through the Zborov-Tarnopol-Proskurov line of hexes.





Thanks for this! Very helpful.

(in reply to Jango32)
Post #: 9
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2 >> Southern Front, trigger or not in t1? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.234