Did a little bit of experimenting, and I think there's TWO factors at work here, that to a degree work to obscure one another
1) The maps are drawn with the "within" count counting the Port hex as hex #1 - I believe (based on other "within" rules e.g. the Manchurian garrisons) the port hex is actually hex #0.
2) Hexes are NOT counted "as the crow flies", but domain-dependent (That is, for the purposes of "naval units within range" it counts sea hexes, ignoring land hexes - and vice versa [for example, the Cyprus garrison does not fulfil the "within 5 hexes" of Damascus]
In your specific case, I think that means the Cruiser off Crete is unit number 7.
I tried to map it out, but there's just a few too many quirks on what counts as a "sea" hex for me to be entirely confident (e.g. it seems that while you can't sail through the canal of Corinth, it does count as adjacent for the purposes of determining hex distance [111,59 and 112,60 are both accessible to naval units, but a naval unit in one will sail around the Peleponese to get to the other] )
< Message edited by ForzaA -- 6/27/2021 8:50:05 AM >