From: Madrid, Spain
Fascinating. The example you have given from the rules contradicts the clarification in the rules. In fact, the retreat example above violates not only the FTC rule, but the retreat rule as well.
The retreat rule say that you can not retreat a unit into a hex you can not move into. And the FTC rule states that it restricts a unit from entering. The clarification explicitly states that you can not retreat into a hex that violates the FTC rule.
It seems to me that the example is obsolete and no longer relevant. And that the German player selects the order in which the unit are to be retreated. Hence the MECH can be retreated last, and thus destroyed.
Cut from RAC: 11.16.5 Resolving attacks
If the result includes an ‘R’, the attacker retreats all surviving defending land units 1 hex (even if
disorganized). You retreat units individually and you can retreat them into different hexes. You can’t retreat a unit
into a hex it couldn’t move into.
Cut from RAC: 18.2 Not co-operating
[Clarification. Foreign Troop Commitments (FTC) restrict a unit from entering a country. Once in, it’s ok for the
unit to remain, even if the HQ moves out. Note that if you cannot enter a hex because of FTC, then you cannot
retreat into it either. However, if an HQ and another land unit are to retreat, and the only retreat path is such that
the other land unit would be destroyed if retreated first (due to FTC), but it would survive if the HQ were retreated
first, then the HQ must be retreated first. This is because “units must be retreated if possible” - Dec. 29, 2007. The
USSR needs to abide by Foreign Troop Commitment requirements to enter Japanese controlled hexes in China,
unless China has been conquered - May 12, 2008.]
I believe you can move it, though later you may have to kill some of them because of overstacking, when the end of the phase arrives.
What the “units must be retreated if possible” part refers to, IMO, is to the order they must retreat into, or not be able to do it if they do not fulfill the conditions:
If the result includes an ‘R’, the attacker retreats all surviving defending
land units 1 hex (even if face-down).
You retreat units individually and you can retreat them into different
You can’t retreat a unit into a hex it couldn’t move into.
If a unit could retreat into several hexes, you must retreat it according to
1. a hex not in an enemy ZOC and not causing over-stacking.
2. a hex not in enemy ZOC and causing over-stacking.
3. a hex in an enemy ZOC containing a friendly land unit and not
causing over stacking.
4. a hex in enemy ZOC containing a friendly land unit and causing
Destroy a unit if it can’t retreat under any of these priorities.
If the unit ends in a hex which is still to be attacked, or where it is
overstacked, continue retreating the unit according to the same priorities
(or destroy it if this is not possible)
My first corps and the div fitted in Lille per 3. the last corps as well as per 4 and be overstacked.
Then this last corps needs to move on if there is possibility to according to "If the unit ends in a hex which is still to be attacked, or where it is overstacked, continue retreating the unit according to the same priorities", so it would go to the coast hex with the HQ as per 3 again.
If this was not possibe because there was no hex fulfilling any of the 4 rules further than Lille, they would be overstacked in Lille and then some die, following ----> "(or destroy it if this is not possible)".
Centuur: RAW7 was used to create MWIF, but being MWIF created after or around 2008 I believe that they applied the Clarifications, which is Clarifications partly and partly a hidden Errata of those rules. Am I right in that the Clarifications are into it?
Clarifications sometimes twist the rule 180º so that is important. If Harry Rowland and later Patrice Forno were advising in the start of the process, they should.
< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 2/28/2021 11:54:31 AM >