Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Shadow Empire >> OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it - 1/6/2021 9:15:09 AM   
aguvenli

 

Posts: 20
Joined: 1/3/2016
Status: offline
Today I've had an OHQ commander die in a battle involving units under her command, but the actual HQ unit was not in it. Is this supposed to happen? IIRC, the manual says the leader has a chance of dying only if directly involved in a losing battle.
Post #: 1
RE: OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it - 1/6/2021 9:29:19 AM   
Maerchen

 

Posts: 338
Joined: 6/16/2020
From: Germany
Status: offline
It is pretty normal. Depending on his heroism stat, personal combat and lead from front skills he will be fighting with an attached unit or not.

To enhance a good OHQ leaders' survivability, you can play Personal guard FP stratagem or the Ancient combat armor artifact, one increasing Pesonal Combat, the other improving his STR stat. When in combat, the leader rolls on Personal combat, a STR skill, to survive and retreat.

< Message edited by Maerchen -- 1/6/2021 9:30:51 AM >


_____________________________

The logistics hell this game is IS the fun part! - Maerchen, 2020

The good thing is, we have all the information in the reports. The bad thing is, we have all the information. Maerchen, 2020

Came for SE. Will stay for SE.

(in reply to aguvenli)
Post #: 2
RE: OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it - 1/6/2021 2:35:18 PM   
KarisFraMauro

 

Posts: 113
Joined: 12/2/2020
Status: offline
Yeah I've had OHQ commanders die that way from time to time. Hmm, do the chances of death increase if their unit is directly in combat though? Maybe the rolls are the same but the chances of having to make a roll increase.

(in reply to Maerchen)
Post #: 3
RE: OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it - 1/6/2021 2:38:42 PM   
Hazard151

 

Posts: 139
Joined: 6/15/2020
Status: offline
If the OHQ is in combat commanders of the HQ are considerably more likely to die. It's one of the reasons I try to keep my OHQs 1 hex behind the front.

(in reply to KarisFraMauro)
Post #: 4
RE: OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it - 1/6/2021 3:46:09 PM   
zgrssd

 

Posts: 3033
Joined: 6/9/2020
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: aguvenli

Today I've had an OHQ commander die in a battle involving units under her command, but the actual HQ unit was not in it. Is this supposed to happen? IIRC, the manual says the leader has a chance of dying only if directly involved in a losing battle.

Depending on their Heroics Score, they might choose to pull a Rommel and "lead from the front".
If that happens, a Personal Combat roll is used to survive but the "Lead from the front" skill provides chances to recover morale, IIRC.

The chance to die if the OHQ is engaged is afaik seperate.

(in reply to aguvenli)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Shadow Empire >> OHQ commander killed in combat while not in it Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.586