From: Republic of Cascadia
I'm going have to take credit for that sortie against OldCrow. The trick was not to hit with the subs, just to spot juicy targets. There is a pretty significant penalty to running into an unspotted enemy ship, which GB pretty much has to take if he wants to counterattack, since he has no aircraft or subs at the start to do the spotting. Germany, on the other hand, starts with 2 subs. This is the strongest tactical advantage they have. So you spot, strike, then retreat in a defensive formation. Bonus points if you manage to strike when it's calm, then force him to counterattack in stormy weather.
An important thing to note is that to break the blockade, you must inflict at least 2:1 losses against the British and keep enough capital ships to act as a credible threat against a resumed blockade. Difficult but very achievable goal in 1914. Impossible once the British start using subs and airships to patrol the North Sea in early 1915. So if you don't sally in 1914, don't ever sally.
Yep, It was you ThisEndUp.
It was one of the most audacious and brilliant gambits I've ever witnessed in a PM match, and I've seen a lot!
Within a turn or two, after the shock of it all, I realized the full ramifications of it meant to the Entente, the UK in particular.
Since a significant portion of ThisEndsUp's IGN was still intact, and All of his submarines, I didn't dare put my diminished fleet on the blockade line except for one or two on each of the blockade hexes so he would get the notifications that the blockade was still up! I never really saw the IGN out in the North Sea again, but the threat of it coming back out was real, and his subs ruled the seas because I had only a few DD's and CL's with ASW left, which are the only ships that have a chance rambling with U-boats.
You are right with this statement, "If you sally out, sally out in 1914, or not at all."
What I learned is, "Don't implement the Blockade on full until you deploy your sub the Nautilus and a screen on patrol in the North Sea that can act as a tripwire".
I didn't name you on the forums because I thought you may want to try it again on another opponent, but I am glad you claimed your prize, because you really deserve mention for this action in the dispatches!