Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

[Logged] Submarine Depth - No predefined In Layer setting?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Command: Modern Operations series >> Tech Support >> [Logged] Submarine Depth - No predefined In Layer setting? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
[Logged] Submarine Depth - No predefined In Layer setting? - 9/25/2020 3:52:32 AM   
pbrowne

Complete noob question on CMO and submarines. Why isn't there a predefined depth setting for in-layer?

< Message edited by Rory Noonan -- 10/5/2020 2:17:53 AM >
Post #: 1
RE: Submarine Depth - No predefined In Layer setting? - 9/25/2020 6:35:55 AM   
Fido81

I recall reading somewhere (I've just spent the past few minutes looking for a source and come up empty so take this with a big grain of salt) that just like the upper boundary of the layer reflects sonar pulses from ships on the surface, the upper and lower boundaries of the layer reflect sonar from submarines in the layer. This means that operating in the layer makes you tactically blind (unless you've got a towed array, but the vast majority of boats represented in the game don't).

I would imagine it's quite difficult to sink a ship you can't actually detect. Similarly, unless the opposition has a variable depth sonar (again, the vast majority of ships represented in the game don't), I imagine they'll have a rather difficult time detecting you. I'm not sure when it's a really great idea to be in a position where you definitely can't see the enemy and the enemy probably can't see you, but if they can - you're dead. Maybe it makes sense for boomers?