Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

two more questions...

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> WarPlan >> two more questions... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
two more questions... - 8/10/2020 2:39:22 AM   
boldairade

 

Posts: 95
Joined: 1/15/2005
Status: offline
1) it doesn't seem like my interceptors are picking up incoming strategic bombers. they are NOT set to mission only. why?

2) every time i attempt to engage an enemy surface fleet, i move next to them and get 'ambushed'. is this bad? is there a way to avoid this? i am looking to attack, it seems odd i'm getting ambushed.
Post #: 1
RE: two more questions... - 8/10/2020 4:03:30 AM   
battlevonwar


Posts: 941
Joined: 12/22/2011
Status: offline
1. Your interceptors should do their job if set to Full Mission. Default if they have enough HP, Effectiveness and the 2nd option ... if they're are too weak they won't do anything.

2. Ambushing? I would imagine the still Naval Unit that is detection is low would have the initiative sort of placement. Not sure how the mechanic works but it does appear it's not fun to get ambushed but if you hit 'em hard enough you will get them eventually. Perhaps avoiding this kind of combat when you can is optimal? Or hit with ranged Naval Units?

(in reply to boldairade)
Post #: 2
RE: two more questions... - 8/10/2020 8:13:13 AM   
sillyflower


Posts: 3159
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Back in Blighty
Status: offline
Ambush just seems to be the main mechanic for fighting naval battles ie when both sides are in normal mode. I don't think it makes any difference to the result but I may be wrong. NB a fleet can do only 2 ambushes/turn: the same as a/c interceptions of interception of ships by bombers on naval interdiction.

If you are playing allies you shd welcome ambushes as the best way of destroying the navies of the axis of evil - as long as your forces are as strong/stronger than your foes.

_____________________________

web exchange

Post: I am always fearful that when I put this game down on the table and people see the box-art they will think I am some kind of neo-Nazi

Reply: They already know you're a gamer. What other shame can possibly compare?

(in reply to battlevonwar)
Post #: 3
RE: two more questions... - 8/10/2020 3:32:59 PM   
AlvaroSousa


Posts: 6730
Joined: 7/29/2013
Status: offline
When you get a result that says Ambush it means the luck roll for one side went heavily in their favor.

So say the roll is +10 to -10.

Bismarck naval group is at hex 98, 38
Hood naval groups moves next to with 1 OP and right clicks to attack.
Makes the search roll and finds Bismark.
Luck Roll -10
AMBUSH
Bismarck scores a hit that crits on the hood.
Sunk hook naval group..... Next UK fleet to be sunk plz.

_____________________________

Games worked on

Designer of the Strategic Command 2 products
- Brute Force (mod)
- Assault on Communism
- Assault on Democracy

Designer of the Strategic Command 3 products
- Map Image Importer

(in reply to sillyflower)
Post #: 4
RE: two more questions... - 8/10/2020 9:32:56 PM   
boldairade

 

Posts: 95
Joined: 1/15/2005
Status: offline
well, maybe i'm just getting VERY unlucky. but the last three times i moved a large surface group to intercept an opposing surface group, i was ambushed.

i lost Scharnhorst most recently. Upsetting. Always loved that ship!

(in reply to AlvaroSousa)
Post #: 5
RE: two more questions... - 8/15/2020 9:56:04 PM   
boldairade

 

Posts: 95
Joined: 1/15/2005
Status: offline
Alvaro, maybe you just mistyped.

but that's not how the ambush is working.

it does not occur AFTER the attacking surface group clicks attack.

the attacking surface group moves adjacent to the defending surface group, and BEFORE combat, you get a 'ambush' message, and often lose a surface ship.

this may be as intended, i don't know.

(in reply to AlvaroSousa)
Post #: 6
RE: two more questions... - 8/15/2020 10:54:03 PM   
sillyflower


Posts: 3159
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Back in Blighty
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: AlvaroSousa

When you get a result that says Ambush it means the luck roll for one side went heavily in their favor.




Would be nice to be able to ambush raiders


_____________________________

web exchange

Post: I am always fearful that when I put this game down on the table and people see the box-art they will think I am some kind of neo-Nazi

Reply: They already know you're a gamer. What other shame can possibly compare?

(in reply to AlvaroSousa)
Post #: 7
RE: two more questions... - 8/16/2020 1:06:31 AM   
AlvaroSousa


Posts: 6730
Joined: 7/29/2013
Status: offline
It can happen.

_____________________________

Games worked on

Designer of the Strategic Command 2 products
- Brute Force (mod)
- Assault on Communism
- Assault on Democracy

Designer of the Strategic Command 3 products
- Map Image Importer

(in reply to sillyflower)
Post #: 8
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> WarPlan >> two more questions... Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109