Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Russo-Japanese War

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Russo-Japanese War Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Russo-Japanese War - 7/18/2020 6:28:57 PM   
jesperpehrson


Posts: 1034
Joined: 7/29/2006
Status: offline
We are playing a game where Russia and Japan are at war. Russia has captured most of Manchuria and are now threatening Korea. The communist chinese has sneakily captured the resource in Manchuria closest to Peking.

The question is now the addition to optional 50 (page 113):
Clarification to the Addition to Option 50: The
USSR may surrender at any time during its first
war with Japan. In addition to hexes given up per
the above surrender rule, all hexes on the Pacific
Map are surrendered to Japan. Japan may surrender
at any time to the USSR during their first war. In
addition to hexes given up per the above surrender
rule, Japan also cedes Manchuria to the USSR.


Can the Japanese surrender?
If so, when can Japan surrender? At any point (beginning of their impulse for instance) or during the peacephase?



< Message edited by jesperpehrson -- 7/18/2020 9:12:00 PM >
Post #: 1
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/19/2020 3:45:19 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7972
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
It happens in the Peace phase.

I'm sure you know the rule is not coded in MWiF and you'll have to do some workarounds.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 7/19/2020 3:47:05 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to jesperpehrson)
Post #: 2
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/19/2020 8:36:16 PM   
jesperpehrson


Posts: 1034
Joined: 7/29/2006
Status: offline
Yes we know about that, my opponent has some programming skills so we will probably have some workarounds to go about it.
But the main question is wether or not Japan can activate the option in the current state of affairs?

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 3
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/20/2020 8:01:00 AM   
Cohen_slith

 

Posts: 2532
Joined: 10/5/2010
From: Italy
Status: online
From my perspective the Asian Theather is bogus on Matrix WiF.

The Counter Density for the Asian Theather (for the land war) and the additional amount of airbases (for the Pacific war) just cripple the experience, compared to the original tabletop game.

Simply China struggles to propery stop the Japanese in most cases (Especially if the Japs dance their advance on the 'weather' timeline so to optize their 'clear weather uptime'), unless the Soviets intervene.
If the Soviets intervene, Japan in turn has no way to stop them due to having too few units for the superbroad Manchuria.

In general best solution is to agree between players that Soviets and Japanese do not go to War.
China does its best to survive because here, even if they fall, the USA have so many airbases that pratically rock and rule the Pacific War pretty quickly (ontop of their insane naval AA too which have been reduced by 1/3 roughly in the WiF Collectros Edition).

(in reply to jesperpehrson)
Post #: 4
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/20/2020 3:57:51 PM   
Orm


Posts: 19939
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: jesperpehrson

But the main question is wether or not Japan can activate the option in the current state of affairs?

Yes. Japan can activate the option. The surrender occurs during the peace step.

_____________________________

Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

(in reply to jesperpehrson)
Post #: 5
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/20/2020 4:16:16 PM   
CanInf

 

Posts: 217
Joined: 4/8/2014
Status: offline
we used to do a house rule where 3-1 superiority was required for USSR to attack Japan. It worked well

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 6
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/21/2020 10:34:01 AM   
jesperpehrson


Posts: 1034
Joined: 7/29/2006
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

ORIGINAL: jesperpehrson

But the main question is wether or not Japan can activate the option in the current state of affairs?

Yes. Japan can activate the option. The surrender occurs during the peace step.


So the original clause of three resources is not applicable anymore I take it?

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 7
RE: Russo-Japanese War - 7/21/2020 3:48:50 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7972
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Both clauses are in effect. The resources/Vlad clauses require the prerequisite conditions. But as long as it is the first Russo-JP war, the anytime clause can be invoked but likely has a greater impact on the one that surrenders than the original clauses would have.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to jesperpehrson)
Post #: 8
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Russo-Japanese War Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.148