Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Results order and co-operation in land combats

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> Results order and co-operation in land combats Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Results order and co-operation in land combats - 7/13/2020 3:38:54 PM   
Admiral Delabroglio


Posts: 105
Joined: 11/12/2005
Status: offline
Hello

I tested a blitz combat, with 3 units attacking a single one, I got a 1/B result. The defending unit was eliminated due to no valid retreat path, and afterwards, the attacker had to eliminate one of the attacking units, thus creating a valid retreat path.
It seems to me that according to the rules, the losses should be applied first, and after all the losses, the retreat or shatter results.

However, with only ONE unit attacking, getting a 1/R result, the attacker had no choice for the lost unit, it got eliminated BEFORE the R result, and the attacker could retreat the defending unit into the hex the attacking unit started in.

Another combat question : it seems that the CW could use shore bombardment from two different (non co-operating) minors in the same land combat. Is it intended ? The way I read the rules, it should not be possible.

Best regards

_____________________________

Admiral Delabroglio
Post #: 1
RE: Results order and co-operation in land combats - 7/13/2020 4:25:55 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 8483
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
RAW:

The result is expressed as ‘X/Y’. If X is a number, destroy that
number of attacking land units. If Y is a number, destroy that number
of defending land units. The owning player always chooses losses in a
land combat. If players on a side can not agree on which unit(s) to
lose, choose from all eligible units randomly.

Retreats
If the result includes an ‘R’, the attacker retreats all surviving
defending land units 1 hex (even if face-down).
You retreat units individually and you can retreat them into different
hexes.
You can’t retreat a unit into a hex it couldn’t move into.
If a unit could retreat into several hexes, you must retreat it according
to these priorities:
1. a hex not in an enemy ZOC and not causing over-stacking.
2. a hex not in enemy ZOC and causing over-stacking.
3. a hex in an enemy ZOC containing a friendly land unit and not
causing over stacking.
4. a hex in enemy ZOC containing a friendly land unit and causing
over stacking.
Destroy a unit if it can’t retreat under any of these priorities.


The rules are written in chronological order, therefore, the attacker has to destroy his units first, the defender second and after that retreats have to be made. It's not prohibited to have a unit "advance" into the hex it was attacked from due to an attack, if it is allowed to do so. Of course, the attacker is the one who retreats units (if there is a choice where a retreating unit has to go).

RAW:

18.2 Not co-operating
Units that don’t co-operate cannot:
(...)
5. be committed to any combat or mission that the other unit is, or
will be, involved in this step. This doesn’t apply to naval air or
naval air interception missions.


And out of the FAQ:

Can non-cooperating ART and air unit Ground Strike the same hex?
No. Date 29/12/2007


IMHO this means that two non-cooperating ships cannot be used to shore bombard the same hex (even if they both cooperate with all units which are attacking that hex).

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Admiral Delabroglio)
Post #: 2
RE: Results order and co-operation in land combats - 7/13/2020 5:34:52 PM   
Orm


Posts: 20379
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
Would it be possible to get a picture of the attack before the combat was resolved?

_____________________________

Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

(in reply to Admiral Delabroglio)
Post #: 3
RE: Results order and co-operation in land combats - 7/16/2020 3:23:07 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21930
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
Saved games with instructions on how to reproduce a reported problem are my preferred tools for fixing bugs.

There are so many combinations and permutations of units, country relationships, terrain, optional rules, etc., that trying to recreate reported bugs would consume all my time if I attempted it.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> Results order and co-operation in land combats Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.119