From: Melbourne, Australia
ORIGINAL: Ian R
You may be right, if that general concept description is thought to override any ambiguities elswhere, including in the scenario instructions. However, they only mentioned Czechoslovakia as an aligned minor, and not the various CWE/FR colonial possessions, in RAW 24. Czechoslovakia has '(Ge)' after its name, like all the CW/FR places have suffixes, so do we just overlook their exclusion from the "aligned" listing?
The problem with discussing alignment of countries, is that units co-operate, not countries; the issue is still whether the CW territorials are CW units, because if they are, they should co-operate with the US.
For a moment I thought the territory/country distinction might explain the co-operation of the FF New Caledonia territorial. However, the unit's detail screen says its nationality is "New Caledonia", not Free France.
Checked RAW 24. for the Global War Scenario
Under the section Control: it says "As specified on the map except that" and it then goes on to list the exceptions, which include the points you cite. So, given that the rule states 'as specified on the map', then I think Rule 2.5 would apply every where on the map, which would of course include all the FR and CW minor countries, and territories, etc. with the exception of the cases mentioned [in rule 24] for that scenario.