Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

US escorts in 0 box while neutral

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> US escorts in 0 box while neutral Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
US escorts in 0 box while neutral - 12/22/2019 7:44:00 PM   
Majorball68


Posts: 437
Joined: 11/22/2013
Status: offline
If German units are in a sea box of a Sea Area the Neutral US can commit up to 5 SCS or CV in the zero box does the US actually moving these ships into the 0 box allow the Germans to initiate a search?

Had this issue in North Atlantic and the neutral ships appeared to allow the Germans to trigger a search. I don't believe this is correct. Can someone confirm?
Post #: 1
RE: US escorts in 0 box while neutral - 12/22/2019 7:57:56 PM   
Orm


Posts: 20185
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
Edit: No, I can't confirm. MWIF is correct.

Yes, moving the neutral US ships into a sea area with Axis units allows the Axis to initiate a search. It doesn't even matter if US can actually escort or not. Just entering the sea area triggers the opponents search.

The rule only states your side, and that is the Allied side in this case, and US is part of the Allied side.



Cut from RAC:
11.6 Opponent’s naval combat
After your side has resolved combat in all their selected sea areas, any major power on the other side can try
to initiate combat (see 11.5.2) in any other sea areas
your side moved a non-SUB unit into or within (but not
through)
in your naval air missions step or your naval movement step. Your opponents can't pick an area that has
already been selected this impulse. [Clarification. Any non-sub unit stopping in or moving within a sea area enables
the other side to initiate combat in the sea area. The enabling unit does not have to be at war with any units in the
sea area, provided that there are some units from its side in the sea area which are at war with units in the sea area -
Dec. 23, 2007.]
Your opponent simply points to sea areas, one by one, and, in each of them, designates an organized unit
(which then becomes disorganized) to initiate combat, and follows the sequence in 11.5.1. If your opponent
designated an interception unit during the naval movement step in an interception attempt (see 11.4.6), and it is still
in the sea area, he or she can use that unit to start a naval combat. Obviously the interception unit will have become
disorganized during the interception attempt, but that does not prevent it from also serving as the combat initiation
unit.

< Message edited by Orm -- 12/22/2019 7:59:03 PM >


_____________________________

Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

(in reply to Majorball68)
Post #: 2
RE: US escorts in 0 box while neutral - 12/22/2019 10:10:20 PM   
Majorball68


Posts: 437
Joined: 11/22/2013
Status: offline
Well it doesnt feel right to me for neutral countries to be triggering searches.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 3
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> US escorts in 0 box while neutral Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.191