quote:During a naval air battle, carrier planes always fly regardless if they're disorganized or not. Disorganized carrier planes just can't port strike, ground strike or provide ground support. Otherwise they fly and count, if applicable, to give your ships a higher search number.
I have a japanese fleet at sea. it has carriers, carrier planes and cruisers in it. Japanese conduct a port strike on singapore. They use 100% of their planes on the strike. When the English go, (during their turn) they move ships into the same sea zone as the striking japanese fleet.
I have been trying to understand if the japanese carrier planes will be able to fight should there be naval air combat, I would think they could not as they were all used to do the port strike, but I am not sure. I played through this and there indeed was naval air combat and actually 100% of the japanese planes were able to participate and fight against the english.
My question is...can someone point me towards where this is explained in the rules. On one side I would think the japanese planes could not fight, but on the other I can also see how they could fight. This is all in my head though and I would like to actually read the specific rule that deals with this so I can better plan naval movments.
Also, did you know in the air-to-air portion of a naval air combat that planes that "abort" don't really abort. I'm talking about voluntarily aborting to end the air-to-air (only) and not being aborted by a result during the air to air battle itself. Planes that voluntarily abort during the air-to-air can't attack during that round of naval combat but remain in the sea area for possible following rounds if their side decides to remain. This includes land base air too.