Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

supply unit

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> supply unit Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
supply unit - 1/10/2019 4:20:22 AM   
lion_of_judah


Posts: 1930
Joined: 1/8/2007
Status: offline
question: My Italian infantry Corps is sitting in the Ethiopian capital with a supply unit, but the corps is showing unsupplied. Now, is this because I have no oil, which I'm thinking is the issue. So this question is basically to confirm it. Thanks

< Message edited by lion_of_judah -- 1/10/2019 4:21:57 AM >
Post #: 1
RE: supply unit - 1/10/2019 4:53:00 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17811
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: lion_of_judah

question: My Italian infantry Corps is sitting in the Ethiopian capital with a supply unit, but the corps is showing unsupplied. Now, is this because I have no oil, which I'm thinking is the issue. So this question is basically to confirm it. Thanks
That's not how supply units work. You have to have a HQ with the supply unit. The HQ then serves as a primary supply source for 1 turn. The supply unit is consumed, the HQ unit is flipped (i.e., disorganized) and the HQ also acts as 1 oil point.





Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 2
RE: supply unit - 1/10/2019 6:24:06 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7818
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
You may be thinking of the RAW8 rules (Collectors Edition). MWiF is coded to the RAW7 rules as in post #2.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 3
RE: supply unit - 1/10/2019 7:34:11 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1963
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
I was thinking the same. In RAW8 they behave differently. This would be RAW8

quote:

2.4.2. Tracing supply
To be in supply, a unit must be able to trace a supply path back to a
primary supply source.

A primary supply source for a unit is:
• any friendly city in the unit’s unconquered home country; or
• for a Commonwealth (CW) unit, any friendly city in another
unconquered CW home country; or
• any friendly city in an unconquered home country of a major
power (UK’s home country in the case of the Commonwealth)
the unit co-operates with (see 18.1).
Example: Germany declares war on Poland. Polish units that can
trace a supply path to a friendly controlled city in Poland are in
supply. They are also in supply if they can trace a path to any British
city (because Poland co-operates with the Commonwealth).

DiF option 14: (Supply units) An HQ is a primary supply source for the
rest of the turn if you expend a face-up supply unit (see 22.3) it is stacked
with. You may do this anytime during the action stage, even during your
opponents’ impulse.

Alternatively, during each of your impulses (not your opponents’), each
of your face-up supply units is a primary supply source for one non-HQ
unit it is stacked with until the end of your impulse. This does not expend
or turn face-down the supply unit. You may do this each impulse (to the
same or a different unit).


quote:

13.5 Final reorganisation
Turn all face-down units face-up (including units out of supply, and
those that have stayed at sea).
Option 35: (Isolated reorganisation) Neutral units and units at sea (DiF
option 14: and supply units along with 1 unit each supply unit is stacked
with) are now turned face-up.
Turn each other unit face-up unless it is out
of supply and it cannot trace a basic supply path (including overseas, see
2.4.2) of any length back to a primary supply source for that unit.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 4
RE: supply unit - 1/10/2019 12:37:48 PM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3445
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: offline
I don't see anything in the rule saying the HQ the supply unit is stacked with is disorganized.

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 5
RE: supply unit - 1/10/2019 1:22:10 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1963
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
Don't know exactly what you mean but any one non-HQ unit whether organized or not, which is stacked with the Supply unit is in supply in RAW8, but going back to RAW7...

There is something about the HQ being organized or not but it's another matter, it's about spending the SU (RAW7):

quote:

2.4.2 Tracing supply
To be in supply, a unit must be able to trace a supply path back to a primary supply source.
A primary supply source for a unit is:
ï any friendly city in the unit’s unconquered home country; or
ï for a Commonwealth unit, any friendly city in another unconquered Commonwealth home country; or
ï any friendly city in an unconquered home country of a major power the unit co-operates with (see 18.1).
Example: Germany has just declared war on Poland. Polish units that can trace a supply path to a friendly controlled city in Poland are in supply (because it is a friendly city in their home country). They are also in supply if they can trace to their controlling major power’s cities (because Poland co-operates with its controlling major power).
MiF option 6: An HQ is a primary supply source for the rest of the turn if you expend a face-up supply unit it is stacked with (see 22.4.10).




< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 1/11/2019 7:23:10 AM >

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 6
RE: supply unit - 1/11/2019 6:42:06 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7818
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: lion_of_judah

question: My Italian infantry Corps is sitting in the Ethiopian capital with a supply unit, but the corps is showing unsupplied. Now, is this because I have no oil, which I'm thinking is the issue. So this question is basically to confirm it. Thanks

The Italian Infantry is in a Secondary supply source but that secondary has no path to a primary. That's why the INF is OoS.

In RAW7 the supply unit does you no good unless there is an HQ unit available to stack with it and expend it to make that HQ a primary supply source for the turn.

Not that this helps but per RAW7 the supply unit itself is always in supply.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 1/11/2019 6:46:27 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 7
RE: supply unit - 1/12/2019 12:33:00 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17811
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

I don't see anything in the rule saying the HQ the supply unit is stacked with is disorganized.
I thought they did ... but they don't?


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 8
RE: supply unit - 1/12/2019 3:19:42 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7818
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
The action of consuming the supply unit does not disorganize the HQ and the way it reads, an already disorganized HQ can still consume a supply unit it is stacked with, and become a primary supply source. This is further supported by: "During final reorganization, that HQ may reorganise oil dependent units (even itself) as if it were 1 oil resource."

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 9
RE: supply unit - 1/13/2019 10:49:36 PM   
lion_of_judah


Posts: 1930
Joined: 1/8/2007
Status: offline
thank you, appreciate the help . New question, the HQ units are already a supply source without a supply unit. I have a Japanese Infantry HQ in Southern China, along with 5 infantry units next to it or within one hex and their supply source is the HQ infantry unit. There is no supply depot near them. Thanks

< Message edited by lion_of_judah -- 1/13/2019 10:51:35 PM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 10
RE: supply unit - 1/14/2019 6:51:51 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7818
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Not sure what your question is, but if those units and the HQ are out of supply then it is because the HQ cannot trace to a primary supply source. HQs are only secondary sources and all supply lines must get to a primary source.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 11
RE: supply unit - 1/14/2019 7:22:58 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1963
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: lion_of_judah

thank you, appreciate the help . New question, the HQ units are already a supply source without a supply unit. I have a Japanese Infantry HQ in Southern China, along with 5 infantry units next to it or within one hex and their supply source is the HQ infantry unit. There is no supply depot near them. Thanks


HQs are only a secondary supply source when connected with a primary source directly or through a number of secondaries, under some conditions that depend on climate, distance, railways... and not being blocked by enemy.

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 12
RE: supply unit - 1/16/2019 9:50:13 PM   
lion_of_judah


Posts: 1930
Joined: 1/8/2007
Status: offline
all Japanese units including HQ are in supply and you are correct, the HQ is a secondary supply.I think the main supply is the port in the south. Thanks

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 13
RE: supply unit - 1/16/2019 10:35:00 PM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3445
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: lion_of_judah

all Japanese units including HQ are in supply and you are correct, the HQ is a secondary supply.I think the main supply is the port in the south. Thanks

No, the primary is some city in Japan.

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 14
RE: supply unit - 1/16/2019 10:35:27 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7818
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
The primary supply source must be a city in Japan, but likely that port is part of the path. It costs one supply tracing hex to go overseas regardless of weather, so it is possible for an HQ to be in supply via a port in fine weather but then OoS in bad weather (along with all the units that were tracing to it).

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 15
RE: supply unit - 1/17/2019 3:40:15 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21580
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: lion_of_judah

all Japanese units including HQ are in supply and you are correct, the HQ is a secondary supply.I think the main supply is the port in the south. Thanks

Read through the Picture and Text tutorial #9. It is pretty thorough about supply with both abstract and practical examples.

If you press F8 during a game, the program will show you all supply sources and paths for each major power and minor country. A check box on that form can be used to list all the units that are Out of Supply.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to lion_of_judah)
Post #: 16
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> supply unit Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.133