Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Assualt vs Blitz

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Assualt vs Blitz Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Assualt vs Blitz - 3/14/2018 3:03:54 PM   
tverse

 

Posts: 341
Joined: 10/10/2016
Status: offline
In deciding who determines (def vs Att) which combat table to use in 2D10 CRT does the following from RAC:
"Either the attacker has more ARM and HQ-A units than the defender or MECH units than the defender and the defender has no ARM or HQ-A units."
Does this mean (bold print) that One AT Gun (which counts as an ARM or any ARM unit) allows the defender to determine the which CRT to use? If so then does the first half of the quote only applies to defenders with mech/mot units only?

The reason I ask is I had about 6+ ARM and Mech units attacking a garrison and AT gun on a clear hex (no trees, city, etc.)and the defender got to choose the CRT table, which really didn't matter to the outcome except for I did not get the blitz movement.

edit: I think I may have figured it out: While I had numerous MECH units in the attack force, I only had one ARM unit and an AT Gun in the attack....so I suspect it only counts the "true" ARM unit (not the AT as an ARM unit) therefore I did not have more ARM units vs def (which had an AT gun counting as an ARM unit).

< Message edited by tverse -- 3/14/2018 3:13:09 PM >
Post #: 1
RE: Assualt vs Blitz - 3/14/2018 3:38:17 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1963
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
You figured it out more or less, first you compare your armor (ARM +HQ-A) to the defender armor, if no armor, then your MECH to the defender MECH, and AT counts as an armor but only on the defender's side.

quote:

The attacker chooses the table if:
1. the defending hex is a non-city hex in clear, forest or desert; and
2. any attacking unit is not attacking across a fort hexside; and
3. either the attacker has more:
ï ARM and HQ-A units than the defender; or
ï MECH units than the defender and the defender has no ARM or HQ-A units.
AsA/MiF/PoliF option 2: Divisions count as 1/2 a unit (rounding up).
AsA option 3: Each defending anti-tank unit counts as an ARM corps. AA units which have a combat factor circled in red or pink are treated as AT units for the choice of land combat.


< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 3/14/2018 3:41:33 PM >

(in reply to tverse)
Post #: 2
RE: Assualt vs Blitz - 3/14/2018 5:01:19 PM   
tverse

 

Posts: 341
Joined: 10/10/2016
Status: offline
Thanks for the validation.

Just when think you understand.....you have to read the “fine print”.

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 3
RE: Assualt vs Blitz - 3/15/2018 6:43:04 PM   
ajds

 

Posts: 38
Joined: 11/1/2006
From: Apple Valley, California USA
Status: offline
Just to chime in, the RAC should have a comma after the the first defender, since there are two rule clauses:
Either the attacker has more ARM and HQ-A units than the defender, or
[the attacker has more] MECH units than the defender and the defender has no ARM or HQ-A units [or AT gun or circled red/pink AA gun].

(in reply to tverse)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Assualt vs Blitz Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.152