From: Baton Rouge, LA
In my current Global War solitaire game, I tried to RTB a Dutch TRS loaded with Gort HQ from the Red Sea to Free French Syria during the return to base phase, but could not. No message, just the big X. He had to divert to Cyprus as well. I guess the game did not allow this to happen because of the foreign troop commitment rule, despite the fact that if Gort were already there, the TRS could have RTBed to the Syrian port.
Gort to DeGaulle: "I'm on the way, you got room to park my ride?"
DeGaulle to Gort: "Sure, but ya gotta swim ashore first..."
There is no overkill. There is only "open fire" and "reloading."