Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Channel Ports and HQs

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> Channel Ports and HQs Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Channel Ports and HQs - 1/4/2018 8:14:42 PM   
BK6583

 

Posts: 411
Joined: 10/8/2002
Status: offline
Playing D-Day Campaign 44-45 as the Germans. I'm not sure how to ask this question. I've garrisoned all of the Brittany ports with divisions. Can I leave them alone C2 wise and use their corps HQs elsewhere or do I need to stack those garrisoned divisions with their respective corps HQs in order to keep them in C2?
Post #: 1
RE: Channel Ports and HQs - 1/5/2018 9:31:17 AM   
loki100


Posts: 6636
Joined: 10/20/2012
From: Utlima Thule
Status: online
there is a special rule for units in ports. They are treated as automatically being in the range of their HQ regardless of the actual distance (this allows you to stack 3 combat units). Just make sure you set up the relationship before the port becomes isolated as you can't actually change it afterwards.

_____________________________


(in reply to BK6583)
Post #: 2
RE: Channel Ports and HQs - 1/5/2018 9:42:11 AM   
EddyBear81

 

Posts: 120
Joined: 2/10/2012
Status: offline
Good to know.

Does it mean that Combat Support units from the said HQ can be committed as well ?
I don't remember if I ever saw it happen, but perhaps I did not pay enough attention (and I can't really check, as I am currently playing the Allies in on-going games !)

(in reply to loki100)
Post #: 3
RE: Channel Ports and HQs - 1/5/2018 12:20:17 PM   
deep42

 

Posts: 102
Joined: 3/19/2014
From: Frankfurt/Germany
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: EddyBear81

Good to know.

Does it mean that Combat Support units from the said HQ can be committed as well ?


I think no. From the manual:
7.7.4.1. Command Range Exceptions for Leader Checks
Units in ports will be treated as if they are one hex from their attached HQ unit and all higher level HQ units in the chain of command for purposes of leader check. This prevents units in isolated ports from suffering a leader penalty when there is no stacking room to leave the HQ unit.
Units that are of the type Parachute or Air-Landing that are attached to an HQ that contains the name Airborne or Fallschirm are considered one hex from their attached HQ unit and all higher level HQs in the chain for the purposes of leader checks. This prevents units conducting an airborne landing from suffering a leader penalty as long as they are attached to an appropriate airborne type HQ unit.

Game Play Info
The above type of HQ support using support
squad ground elements should not be confused
with headquarter units providing support units
during combat (15.4) or supply tracing and
receiving (20.4).


(in reply to EddyBear81)
Post #: 4
RE: Channel Ports and HQs - 1/5/2018 1:49:19 PM   
loki100


Posts: 6636
Joined: 10/20/2012
From: Utlima Thule
Status: online
duplicate response

_____________________________


(in reply to EddyBear81)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> Channel Ports and HQs Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.111