Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

When in a turn is a unit considered surrounded?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> The War Room >> When in a turn is a unit considered surrounded? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
When in a turn is a unit considered surrounded? - 4/8/2016 4:22:05 PM   
Hoggorm

Hi,

I'm a noob trying to learn War in the East and was wondering when a unit is considered surrounded?

Until now I've only considerer enemy units counters with red border to be so, but I was wondering if it actually happens earlier?

The reason for asking is that I feel my infantry is moving very, very slow ahead as Germans.

During first turn I punch a hole in the soviet lines and drive my tanks through and surround the soviet troops. Using my understanding of surrounding, my infantry can't move at all this first turn since they have to "stand guard" and keep the lines. They cannot attack (as the soviets are not considered surrounded even though my panzer divisions have made a pinching maneuver behind them) since they will not get the bonus for attacking isolated units.

During round two my infantry can attack, but hardly anything more witch means that they can only advance during turn three (If I was able to destroy all enemy units in round two).

Am I doing this correctly or can I attack with my infantry already in round one when my panzers are behind the soviets?
Post #: 1
RE: When in a turn is a unit considered surrounded? - 4/8/2016 4:59:40 PM   
Hermann