Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 9:57:30 AM   
Bif1961


Posts: 1594
Joined: 6/26/2008
From: Phenix City, Alabama
Status: offline
I need a poll answered. Many Japanese players use elements of the Royal Thailand Army, RTA, in Burma, should they pay or not pay Political Points before their use?
Post #: 1
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 10:33:24 AM   
Roger Neilson 3


Posts: 1119
Joined: 4/12/2012
From: Bedlington, Northumberland, UK
Status: offline
As far as I am concerned, feel free, they are rubbish and might as well die elsewhere as back in Thailand.Once the Allied forces start to get decent combat experience and equipment they cannot stand against much in the Allied inventory. Never having played the Empire I have no idea whether in the totality of things the expenditure or not of PPs will make any significant difference.

Roger

_____________________________

An unplanned dynasty: Roger Neilson, Roger Neilson 11, previous posts 898+1515.

(in reply to Bif1961)
Post #: 2
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 12:36:21 PM   
Jorge_Stanbury


Posts: 3332
Joined: 2/29/2012
From: Lima and Toronto
Status: offline
RTA units are permanent restricted

paying PP won't work. because you simply can't change HQs.


most PBEM games have a house rule that you can only cross national borders after paying PP. Hence, in most games this is not allowed.

That said, in both PBEM games I am playing (as both Allied and Japan), we allow Thai and Chinese troops in Burma
As Roger said, it is not a big deal, as these troops are good for garrison at most.

"Assault Value" is, purposely, one of the most deceptive values in this game.

< Message edited by Jorge_Stanbury -- 3/5/2016 12:41:20 PM >

(in reply to Roger Neilson 3)
Post #: 3
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 1:05:14 PM   
kbfchicago


Posts: 276
Joined: 10/17/2009
Status: offline
Allowed.

However, when I play AI as IJ limit myself to S. of Mandaly Leshio line (essentially garrison duty around Rangoon)

As a related exception, we have allowed Allied units to Akyab (just the two hexes South of India connected by road to India) without PP buy out. If they go South of the Naaf River, PPs must be paid first.

(in reply to Bif1961)
Post #: 4
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 2:23:13 PM   
Bif1961


Posts: 1594
Joined: 6/26/2008
From: Phenix City, Alabama
Status: offline
As far as I am concerned, feel free, they are rubbish and might as well die elsewhere as back in Thailand.Once the Allied forces start to get decent combat experience and equipment they cannot stand against much in the Allied inventory. Never having played the Empire I have no idea whether in the totality of things the expenditure or not of PPs will make any significant difference.

Roger







Thank you for your response.

< Message edited by Bif1961 -- 3/5/2016 3:13:39 PM >

(in reply to Roger Neilson 3)
Post #: 5
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 2:24:07 PM   
Bif1961


Posts: 1594
Joined: 6/26/2008
From: Phenix City, Alabama
Status: offline
RTA units are permanent restricted

paying PP won't work. because you simply can't change HQs.


most PBEM games have a house rule that you can only cross national borders after paying PP. Hence, in most games this is not allowed.

That said, in both PBEM games I am playing (as both Allied and Japan), we allow Thai and Chinese troops in Burma
As Roger said, it is not a big deal, as these troops are good for garrison at most.

"Assault Value" is, purposely, one of the most deceptive values in this game.





That has been my experience in the several games I have played. The RTA HQ is a subordinate to the Southern Japanese Army and that can be changed with PPs.

< Message edited by Bif1961 -- 3/5/2016 3:14:45 PM >

(in reply to Jorge_Stanbury)
Post #: 6
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 2:25:29 PM   
Bif1961


Posts: 1594
Joined: 6/26/2008
From: Phenix City, Alabama
Status: offline
Allowed.

However, when I play AI as IJ limit myself to S. of Mandaly Leshio line (essentially garrison duty around Rangoon)

As a related exception, we have allowed Allied units to Akyab (just the two hexes South of India connected by road to India) without PP buy out. If they go South of the Naaf River, PPs must be paid first.








There are several examples where prior agreement would work out the rough spots, thanks for your reply.

< Message edited by Bif1961 -- 3/5/2016 3:15:24 PM >

(in reply to kbfchicago)
Post #: 7
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/5/2016 10:39:46 PM   
JeffroK


Posts: 6306
Joined: 1/26/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: kbfchicago

Allowed.

However, when I play AI as IJ limit myself to S. of Mandaly Leshio line (essentially garrison duty around Rangoon)

As a related exception, we have allowed Allied units to Akyab (just the two hexes South of India connected by road to India) without PP buy out. If they go South of the Naaf River, PPs must be paid first.


Almost ditto

Allowed to take Moulmein and all places south, I also allow them into Malaya and occupy Penang & Kota Bharu.

While pretty weak, behind 6 forts they take some prying out.

_____________________________

Interdum feror cupidine partium magnarum Europae vincendarum

(in reply to kbfchicago)
Post #: 8
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/8/2016 8:53:43 PM   
leehunt27@bloomberg.net


Posts: 532
Joined: 9/6/2004
Status: offline
Allowed- its not a game changer no matter what. Also makes sense if Japan was "winning" that they would want a share of the spoils gained by adventuring over the border.

_____________________________

John 21:25

(in reply to JeffroK)
Post #: 9
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 3/28/2016 5:54:12 PM   
Bif1961


Posts: 1594
Joined: 6/26/2008
From: Phenix City, Alabama
Status: offline
Thanks to those who responded it seems that the consensus is that they are typically allowed into Burma and Malaya with some restrictions that are previously agree upon.

(in reply to leehunt27@bloomberg.net)
Post #: 10
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 4/3/2016 2:32:08 PM   
Alpha77

 

Posts: 1708
Joined: 9/24/2010
Status: offline
I use them anywhere I can get them. The AI uses Canadian mounties on pacific islands too :)

And they are not as "rubbish" as pointed out, they are good garrison troops and can also gain some exp.

But it is indeed better to put some restrictions on yourself if playing vs. AI.

< Message edited by Alpha77 -- 4/3/2016 2:33:55 PM >

(in reply to Bif1961)
Post #: 11
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 4/3/2016 10:06:25 PM   
John B.


Posts: 2606
Joined: 9/25/2011
From: Virginia
Status: offline
I agree. We use Burma as a cockpit. Anyone can go in there. And, we let the Chinese into Vietnam (or we would but we've never gotten there) since historically Chinese units occupied Hanoi. Anything else and you have to pay PP. The RTA is sort of like the burmese troops, not that good but with forts can help protect against air drops behind the lines.

(in reply to Alpha77)
Post #: 12
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 4/4/2016 8:25:21 PM   
Macclan5


Posts: 952
Joined: 3/24/2016
From: Toronto Canada
Status: offline
Wikipedia suggests that the RTA (and Indian National Army) were not deployed in such a fashion till 10 May 1942....

I have no information that would refute such a statement.

Question 1 - Does "real life" historical dates factor into such house rules ?


(in reply to John B.)
Post #: 13
RE: RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? - 4/4/2016 8:53:48 PM   
Alpha77

 

Posts: 1708
Joined: 9/24/2010
Status: offline
Isnt this only 1 div plus 1 cav unit in game that can be moved at all ? And a weak div at that. Maybe too much hassle for such weak force ?

(in reply to Macclan5)
Post #: 14
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> RTA used in Burma to pay or not pay PPs? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.141