At this point, I would start over. When there is a such a major rules mistake, so early in the game, there is really not much reason to continue. You were playing one game, and the rules were for another.
Also, this is why I always put three chits in the Ge/It pool at the start of the game. I expect to get one chit from the Germans declaring war on Poland, lose one the Allies declaring war on Germany, and to lose one when the Russians take Eastern Poland. This leaves two. If playing with oil (I do), I do not expect Germany to contest Bessarabia. If, however, I only had one chit in pool, then there would be an 80% chance of no US DOW, and there is no way I would risk that.
There is no reason to take the Baltic states in 1939, unless the US gets really unlucky with its chit draws, and you want to remove a really bad chit. Wait for 1940, with the horrible chits that the US gets then. Indeed, barring a 1940 DOW on German (not impossible, but unlikely), there is no reason to do so before N/D 1940.
I thought I knew how to play this game....