Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Dynamic campaign possible?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Command: Modern Operations series >> Mods and Scenarios >> Dynamic campaign possible? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Dynamic campaign possible? - 8/20/2015 2:22:09 PM   
cns180784

Hi i'm still quite new to command, played a few scenarios so far and getting into it nicely. Was wondering if, i guess not now, but at some point in the future there could be the possibility for a scenario maker to create a dynamic campaign like there is in Falcon BMS? would be truly awesome.
Post #: 1
RE: Dynamic campaign possible? - 8/20/2015 7:39:03 PM   
jmarso

I am guessing that by a 'dynamic campaign' you are referring to linked scenarios.

I'm not one of the devs, but if my understanding of how the game works is correct I don't think this is possible the way you are thinking. I think (I might be wrong) that you can chain together scenarios using lua scripts, but importing a new scenario won't refer back to losses or resources expended in terms of the scenario you are jumping from.

On the other hand, this game affords you the ultimate opportunity to play a campaign: you can design as long and convoluted as you want; the trick is that you probably won't be able to sit and play it in one sitting. The other problem you run into there is that obviously, the larger the scenario is with more units, the more of a CPU hog it becomes.

That's my .02, but one of the devs can probably answer your question a lot better.

(in reply to cns180784)
Post #: 2
RE: Dynamic campaign possible? - 8/21/2015 12:25:13 AM   
hellfish6