Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Dumb newbie question

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> Dumb newbie question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Dumb newbie question - 7/22/2015 11:25:40 PM   
IronDuke_slith

 

Posts: 1595
Joined: 6/30/2002
From: Manchester, UK
Status: offline

In the air game, I am creating air directives which create (as I understand it) interdiction values on the map (amongst other things). Those air missions can be affected by the opposing player's air missions.

If I am the first player in a turn, what opposing air values am I facing since the second phasing player has yet to create air directives. Is it the values from the second phasing player's previous turn?

In other words, if I am moving across the map as the first phasing player for that week's turn, and hit a hex with interdiction, or have some of my ground support aircraft attacked by enemy air superiority ADs, when were those ADs set given the opposing player has yet to have his (or her) Air planning and execution for that week?

Or am I missing something?

Thanks and regards,
ID.

_____________________________

Post #: 1
RE: Dumb newbie question - 7/23/2015 6:21:13 AM   
Helpless


Posts: 15630
Joined: 8/27/2004
Status: offline
AS ans NP air directives are executing twice per turn - your and enemy air execution. For the first turn first air execution non-phasing player will have to live with ADs setup by scenario designer.

Friendly air execution happens just after logistics phase, so usually it has more sorties. You can reserve some of the air groups for the enemy air phase by setting them on rest and releasing before ending your turn.

_____________________________

Pavel Zagzin
WITE/WITW/WITE-2 Development

(in reply to IronDuke_slith)
Post #: 2
RE: Dumb newbie question - 7/23/2015 1:11:04 PM   
Seminole


Posts: 1553
Joined: 7/28/2011
Status: offline
quote:

You can reserve some of the air groups for the enemy air phase by setting them on rest and releasing before ending your turn.


Flip side of that is you can assign crews to rest during the opponents air execution after they're done their work in your phase.

e.g. I can assign 10 P-47s groups to interdict, but rest 5 of them initially. Conduct the air attacks, rest the 5 that participated during my phase and return to duty the other 5. This helps you from burning through planes and pilot morale as quickly.

Another way it can be used is with consideration of when the enemy logistics phase occurs. I can put up naval patrol during my turn, blocking the path of supply over the water to the enemy, rest those planes, and when I hit end turn the enemy logistics phase will run with those interdiction values in place. The opponent can seek to counter them during his turn, but at the end of his turn is my logistics phase - not his.

You can also even setup 'surprise' attacks this way by assigning all the units in a directive to rest during your air execution phase, then put them back on duty before you end turn so they will carry out their mission during the opponent's air execution without any 'tip off' from examining the previous battle reports.

(in reply to Helpless)
Post #: 3
RE: Dumb newbie question - 7/23/2015 6:44:32 PM   
IronDuke_slith

 

Posts: 1595
Joined: 6/30/2002
From: Manchester, UK
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Helpless

AS ans NP air directives are executing twice per turn - your and enemy air execution. For the first turn first air execution non-phasing player will have to live with ADs setup by scenario designer.

Friendly air execution happens just after logistics phase, so usually it has more sorties. You can reserve some of the air groups for the enemy air phase by setting them on rest and releasing before ending your turn.



So, to confirm, as Allied player, the air directives I set in turn 2 ( as the second phasing player in turn 2) are also in effect during the air and ground phases of the AXIs player in turn 3?

_____________________________


(in reply to Helpless)
Post #: 4
RE: Dumb newbie question - 7/23/2015 7:09:54 PM   
Helpless


Posts: 15630
Joined: 8/27/2004
Status: offline
Yes.

_____________________________

Pavel Zagzin
WITE/WITW/WITE-2 Development

(in reply to IronDuke_slith)
Post #: 5
RE: Dumb newbie question - 7/23/2015 7:54:26 PM   
IronDuke_slith

 

Posts: 1595
Joined: 6/30/2002
From: Manchester, UK
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Helpless

Yes.


Thank you, I appreciate the help. Thanks to you and Seminole for the tip about resting air units as well, I shall take a look and implement it.

Thanks and regards,
ID.


< Message edited by IronDuke -- 7/23/2015 8:55:00 PM >


_____________________________


(in reply to Helpless)
Post #: 6
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> Dumb newbie question Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.117