From: Palo Alto, CA
GE & USSR Molotov Pact:
USSR demand Finnish borderlands. GE says, "no." War between Finland and USSR ensues.
Most of the USSR army north of the Pripet's gets sucked into Finland.
GE units meander into Finland. GE units can not attack or enter USSR controlled hexes in Finland. GE FTR's can no intercept, but can ground support GE units being attacked.
Helsinki is taken when USSR uses its O-chit.
Garrison is counted for all of the units of USSR IN Finland.
Finland is conquered, Finishes troops disappear. GE had withdrawn 2 Finnish Corp, and 2 Finnish Div's to GE in an attempt to keep them from dissolving...no such luck...:(
Remaining GE units teleport back to GE.
All Finnnish hexes become USSR controlled.
The USSR units in Finland STILL count for USSR garrison requirements in the Molotov pact. If they hadn't, GE could have declared war in NOV/DEC 1940 1st impulse after Finland was conquered. The rules seem to imply that ONLY USSR units with 3 hexes of the GE border count for Garrison. Finland has no hexes within 3 of the GE border, so they should not be counted?
I can understand why they are still counted as why would the fall of Finland encourage GE to attack and violate the Molotov pact, whose purpose was to allow the attacking of Finland should the Finnish borderlands not be surrendered?
Units not in ZOC count toward garrison if within range of 3 hexes of common border. The common border is rectified during the Conquest Phase. In any impulse in the subsequent turn, any Soviet units using this calculation, would not count against the Nazi-Soviet Peace Pact; as they are no longer within 3 hexes of the common border.
Most men can survive adversity, the true test of a man's character is power. -Abraham Lincoln