Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Capturing Messina

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> The War Room >> Capturing Messina Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Capturing Messina - 6/24/2015 11:55:09 PM   
tex_ka95

Does anyone have any tips for capturing Messina in the 43-45 Italy scenario? I am pretty new to WitW. I kicked a$$ across Sicily, destroying the 1st FJ div, the HG div and 2/3 of the 15th PzG. But the Germans are holed up in Messina (unlike historically) with 2 other PzG div and I can't make a dent with 10+ British div plus artillery.

In the meantime I am planning an invasion of Corsica and Sardinia so maybe that will help.

Thanks
Post #: 1
RE: Capturing Messina - 6/25/2015 1:12:16 AM   
carlkay58

Messina is a tough nut to crack.

1. Remember that adjacent Naval Amphib HQs will give artillery type support to attacks.
2. Be sure to have your Corps HQs bulk up with artillery SUs.
3. Attach Engineer SUs to your ground units.
4. Place ground units that are above the six unit limit in the two adjacent hexes into Reserve mode where they could be committed to the battle in the Reserve activation.
5. Use Ground Support AD to support the higher commands for air support.
6. Use Ground Attack AD targeting Units to hit the units in the city and disrupt them.

Hope that helps. It may take more than a single turn to capture it but it is possible.

(in reply to tex_ka95)
Post #: 2
RE: Capturing Messina - 6/25/2015 4:10:04 PM   
Q-Ball