Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Advice for Axis in late 1940: Spain?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> Advice for Axis in late 1940: Spain? Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Advice for Axis in late 1940: Spain? - 11/15/2014 4:55:42 PM   
Grotius

Hi all,

In my newbish solitaire game, it took the Axis forever to conquer France; I finally sealed the deal in September/October 1940. And in Nov/Dec 1940, Germany had to mop up British and Free French units near Belgium. (Denmark and Poland are conquered too, of course; Norway still neutral.) Being a newb, my grand plan has been to follow historical patterns in general, so that implies that the Axis should look eastward (Balkans, Barbarossa, Egypt). But my Vichy France roll resulted in Vichy governments throughout North Africa, with the Free French bottle up in Syria. The French slightly strengthen the Allied position in Egypt -- and the absence of Free French in the western Med increase the temptation to attack Spain. Italy is at war with France but not the CW.

Given that my Axis assault on western Europe is almost 6 months behind schedule, is it foolish to consider attacking Spain? I'm inclined to bypass the Balkans and just gear up for Barbarossa, but I'm not sure. Japan is floundering in China, but Russia has not intervened in Manchuria. US entry/tension is around 19/11 in both pools, so getting close to the first US gear-up.

I do plan a full AAR at some point, but I'm reluctant to start one with the edit function on these boards glitched right now. I can post pics if anyone wants further info. Any advice?

Post #: 1