When you say FAQ do you mean "the 2008 WiF Annual (incl Factories in Flames)" or the "WiF FE Rule Clarification Summary © 2009"?
Q2.4-1 2.4.2 particularly points out the differences between the three states of Vichy France.
Vichy France is controlled by the major power that installs it. It does not make Vichy France an Axis major power.
Axis units cannot trace supply through A Neutral Vichy France.
A Neutral or Non Hostile Vichy France cannot lend lease BP or resources.
Axis units cannot move through a Non Hostile Vichy France without collapsing it.
AUSTRALIAN DESIGN GROUP WiF FE Rule Clarification Summary © 2009, Australian Design Group
Q2.4-1 2.4.2 May Axis units trace supply through Vichy French territory when it is
(a) neutral, (a) No.
(b) active (b) Yes.
(c) active and hostile? (c) Yes.
2.4.2: You can’t trace any supply path: 3rd bullet is : into a hex controlled by a neutral country (exception: Vichy territory ~ see 17.4 and Sweden ~ see 19.7); or
5.1 Trade agreements
Q5.1-1 5.1 Are Trade Agreements cancelled upon
(a) Incomplete Conquest? (a) No
(b) Complete Conquest? (b) yes
(c) Vichyfication? (c) no.
5.1: They continue until either country involved in the trade agreement is completely conquered or as specified below.
9.6 Calling out the reserves
9.6: Each major power (exception: Vichy France, see 17.3) has reserve units that you can call out when it goes to war with another major power.
13.7.5: Return half of the liberated country’s units not currently in the game (by type, rounding fractions up) to its force pools (except France’s if Vichy was installed).
4.1.3: When a unit is destroyed or old enough, you can remove it from your force pools (see 13.6.9).
Can the CW return (Reversion) a Vichy territory (or minor home country) to the Free French?
13.7.5: You can return a hex or minor country you control to the major power that controlled it in 1939
during any liberation step.
17.4: If an Allied major power liberates other territory controlled by France in 1939, it may return it to Free
French control in any liberation step.
Q1: Prior to liberation of France is there any penalty for not reverting vichy controlled territory to Free France?
Q1: There is no penalty until Paris is liberated.
Q2: After liberation, what are the consequences if the CW does not?
Q2: If Free France's allies do not hand back the 1939 French territory they control at that point, they can no longer cooperate with France. Date 06/03/2008
Q3: Is there any penalty for not liberating France other than France now being treated as red for Partisans?
Q3: No. Date 12/05/2008
13.7.5: If they could return territory but don’t, they can never co-operate with the liberated major power.
Q13.7-18 13.7.5 Since Vichy France minors are aligned, they are conquered, correct (see 13.7.1 4th paragraph)?
So how can you liberate them? If you can't liberate them, how can you return them to Free France?
They are not conquered, they are aligned to Vichy and can be conquered from her.
Their hexes can all be reverted to Free France which is the successor to 1939 France. Date 28/12/2007
13.7.1: You cannot conquer a conquered minor country or territory. You may only liberate or revert it (see
13.7.5: Instead, the major power controlling its capital can liberate it during the peace step if that major power is from the other side to the major power that
Q13.7-19 13.7.5 18.1
If (after having been Vichyfied) France is liberated by the USA, then does the CW cease to cooperate with France?
[CW cooperated with Free France, but Free France ceases to exist at France's liberation]
"Liberated France" succeeds Free France.
Only if the CW refuses to revert liberated territory back to LF/FF would it lose the ability to cooperate. Date 18/01/2008
13.7.5: When France is liberated, Free France ceases to exist and all Free French units, and Territories become French. France is controlled by the liberating major power and is at war with all countries Free France was at war with.
7. Commonwealth and Free French units co-operate.
No other units co-operate.
17.1 Creation (thise questions are only about creating Vichy)
Q17.1-1, Q17.2-2, Q17.2-4, Q17.2-5, and Q17.2-6
17.4 Running Vichy France
Q17.4-1 deals with activity limits
Q17.4-2 and Q17.4-4 deal with Collapsing Vichy
Q17.4-3 17.4, 9., 11.16.5
After a combat result of an R, S or B may the Allied player retreat axis units into Vichy territory and cause the collapse of Vichy?
No. Date 29/12/2007
11.16.5: You can’t retreat a unit into a hex it couldn’t move into.
9.: You can’t enter a hex controlled by:
ï a neutral major power on your side; or 17.4: If an Axis unit enters any hex in Metropolitan Vichy France before an Allied unit does, Vichy France collapses.
17.5 Combat with Vichy
What about Intel points, veto points, etc? Does Free France "inherit" these?
How does Free France roll for Intel? (as France?)
Free France loses all intell, half goes to whoever imposed Vichy. Free France then rolls normally. Date 29/12/2007
22.1: In the peace step that a major power’s home country (the UK only for the Commonwealth) is conquered, or a Vichy government installed, that major power loses all accumulated intelligence points and the conquering major power gains half of them.
22.2 Factory destruction & construction (option 30)
Q22.2-2 22.2 Option 30
Q1 : Can Germany destroy blue French factories after Vichy, if no CW units are in France?
Q1: Only if there are other Allied units in France, no otherwise. Date 16/01/2008
Q2: Do partisans count?
Q2: Yes. Date 07/03/2008
22.2: You may also destroy a blue factory if an enemy land unit occupies a hex in the country.
< Message edited by Extraneous -- 10/19/2014 7:55:29 PM >
University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)