Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

No destroyed unit in 1st Turn?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/4/2014 5:26:47 PM   
HOTEC

 

Posts: 225
Joined: 11/23/2013
Status: offline
If it needs 2 turns to destroy an unit due to isolation, it should be no destroyed unit in the 1st turn.
Is there any other way to destroyed the unit?




Attachment (1)
Post #: 1
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/4/2014 5:30:05 PM   
RedLancer


Posts: 4078
Joined: 11/16/2005
From: UK
Status: online
Fortified Units can be destroyed on T1 as they cannot move.

_____________________________

John
WitE2 Asst Producer
WitE & WitW Dev

(in reply to HOTEC)
Post #: 2
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/4/2014 5:47:13 PM   
DorianGray

 

Posts: 121
Joined: 8/2/2008
Status: offline
Additionally, shattered units and SU attached to cities can be destroyed on Turn 1.

(in reply to RedLancer)
Post #: 3
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/4/2014 8:45:02 PM   
Numdydar

 

Posts: 3052
Joined: 2/13/2004
Status: offline
It has been a while since I played. Are those numbers pretty good for the Axis? It seems low for 13 turns.

(in reply to DorianGray)
Post #: 4
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/5/2014 10:57:25 AM   
HMSWarspite

 

Posts: 1394
Joined: 4/13/2002
From: Bristol, UK
Status: offline
Low for motorized/armoured divs. I have destroyed 78 divs (inc 26 armour/motorized by turn 10, vs AI and I am a noob. Playing on normal though so could be a difficulty thing?

_____________________________

I have a cunning plan, My Lord

(in reply to Numdydar)
Post #: 5
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/5/2014 1:10:37 PM   
DrewBlack


Posts: 673
Joined: 7/3/2004
From: North Wales, UK
Status: online
Hi

Also notice it says "...Disbanded units" as well as destroyed, if the player human or Ai disbands HQs,SU's or units they will show here.

Drew

_____________________________

WitE2 - Alpha Tester/Beta Tester
Wite: 1.10 Beta Tester
Wite: Lost Battles Beta Tester
WitW - Beta Tester

(in reply to HMSWarspite)
Post #: 6
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/5/2014 4:00:54 PM   
swkuh

 

Posts: 1034
Joined: 10/5/2009
Status: offline
Why would it be zero? vs. AI this is an expected 1st turn out outcome due to destruction, routing, etc. Hard to move an Axis piece without smacking a Soviet unit.

(in reply to DrewBlack)
Post #: 7
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/8/2014 7:32:28 PM   
jzardos


Posts: 630
Joined: 3/15/2011
Status: offline
At these rates the axis player will be getting its ass handed to them before 43. have to destroy massive amounts of units as axis to even have a chance for push game in 45

< Message edited by jzardos -- 5/8/2014 8:32:26 PM >

(in reply to swkuh)
Post #: 8
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/9/2014 5:46:29 PM   
Schmart

 

Posts: 662
Joined: 9/13/2010
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: HOTEC

If it needs 2 turns to destroy an unit due to isolation, it should be no destroyed unit in the 1st turn.
Is there any other way to destroyed the unit?


The 2 turns is not a requirement to destroy a unit. The 2 turns refers only to isolating a unit, which does make it much easier to destroy. Units can still be destroyed, shattered, etc without being isolated during the player's turn. Support units, which operate a little differently because they are not on-map units can be destroyed, without the parent HQ being isolated.

(in reply to HOTEC)
Post #: 9
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/9/2014 5:59:43 PM   
HOTEC

 

Posts: 225
Joined: 11/23/2013
Status: offline
Under what condition(s) the "Combat type" unit can be destroyed without being isolated during the player's turn?

(in reply to Schmart)
Post #: 10
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/9/2014 6:44:26 PM   
jwolf

 

Posts: 2493
Joined: 12/3/2013
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: HOTEC

Under what condition(s) the "Combat type" unit can be destroyed without being isolated during the player's turn?


As far as I know, 2 ways:

1. Occasionally you get a "shatter" result against a weak unit.

2. Rarely, a weak and defeated unit which is in supply will be destroyed instead of retreating. I don't know the rules or formulas governing this situation but I have seen it happen (against the AI).

(in reply to HOTEC)
Post #: 11
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/9/2014 8:12:32 PM   
BJP III

 

Posts: 51
Joined: 2/22/2013
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: jwolf


quote:

ORIGINAL: HOTEC

Under what condition(s) the "Combat type" unit can be destroyed without being isolated during the player's turn?


As far as I know, 2 ways:

1. Occasionally you get a "shatter" result against a weak unit.

2. Rarely, a weak and defeated unit which is in supply will be destroyed instead of retreating. I don't know the rules or formulas governing this situation but I have seen it happen (against the AI).


The main way is by defeating units which cannot retreat, particularly fortified zones. Also, you can kill AA units attached to cities just by walking on them (I think).

As to your #2, I believe there is a status of unit called "depleted" which show up as 0=0. These units vaporize when attacked (and do not cost the attacker any MPs). The AI tends to spam these units -- basically shells with essentially no manpower.

(in reply to jwolf)
Post #: 12
RE: No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? - 5/9/2014 9:20:21 PM   
jwolf

 

Posts: 2493
Joined: 12/3/2013
Status: offline
Yes I forgot about the depleted units. What I meant in my 2nd item is a surrender: sometimes a weak enemy unit that should retreat will surrender instead, even if it still has supply.

(in reply to BJP III)
Post #: 13
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> No destroyed unit in 1st Turn? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.123