Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Onboard Mortar Spotting

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Lock ‘n Load: Heroes of Stalingrad >> Onboard Mortar Spotting Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Onboard Mortar Spotting - 3/16/2014 5:05:50 PM   
Horvo

 

Posts: 21
Joined: 5/22/2005
Status: offline
In the first fantasy scenario of the German Campaign I just successfully spotted a hex with a leader. A spotted marker was placed on the hex, but when I tried to fire my mortar, it said the hex was out of LOS. Isn't it supposed to be that I can fire a mortar the same impulse it was successfully spotted, or am I missing something? If someone can explain how to successfully call in onboard mortar fire I would appreciate it.

Also, I'm assuming that you can call in a spotting round for offboard artillery without the hex being spotted, but you can only call in onboard mortars against hexes that are spotted. Is that correct?

Edit: So I tried some different things to see how it works and I came up with the following results:

1- A leader can direct onboard mortar (FFE Button) against a hex that is not spotted

2- The other units in that leaders hex cannot fire that impulse

3- And right now a leader cannot make a spotting attempt and direct onboard mortar fire during the same impulse (But Rule 17.1 seems to say that you can.)

So my question is situation 3 a bug or am I misreading the rules? thanks

< Message edited by Horvo -- 3/16/2014 6:53:39 PM >
Post #: 1
RE: Onboard Mortar Spotting - 3/16/2014 6:16:44 PM   
Sanrepy

 

Posts: 7
Joined: 3/13/2014
Status: offline
In the board game version of the rules,a leader cannot direct onboard mortar fire at a hex that is not spotted, he can call onboard mortar fire
against a hex he spotted during the current impulse. other units in the same hex as the leader can cativate

My experience in the game has been that mortar could fire direct at unspotted hex (but not when using a leader) and that other units in the same hex as the leader cannot activate. I don't think I've experienced the situation described in your point 3.

(in reply to Horvo)
Post #: 2
RE: Onboard Mortar Spotting - 3/20/2014 2:17:37 AM   
Tom Proudfoot


Posts: 1357
Joined: 4/25/2000
From: Alameda, CA
Status: offline
I took another look at the (print) rules and it actually is a little ambiguous about indirect mortars vs. unspotted hexes. It reads:

"They can also fire indirectly at targets to which a friendly spotter has a LOS. A spotter in this context is a Good Order, Leader, Advisor, Scout, or Political Officer. Spotters can call onboard mortar fire against a hex they spotted during the current impulse."

If that third sentence wasn't there it would be clear that yes, all you need is an LOS.

If you take that third sentence as a 'oh, also, they can do this', then it's like a bonus action they can do and they still only need LOS. If instead you say it is modifying what a 'spotter' is, then they'd need to have the hex spotted.

I wanted to get 1.08 off to the installer guys today, so what I did was:
- You can still do indirect mortar fire vs. unspotted hexes as long as the leader has LOS to the hex. It's been like this forever and I'm pretty sure if it was wrong Barthheart would have said something.
- I added the ability for leaders to Spot and then do a mortar shot in the same impulse. It has to be against the same hex they tried to spot. But, since they don't have to have the hex spotted, it doesn't matter if they succeeded at the spot or not; so it's basically like a little bonus action they can do on the impulse.
- And fixed it where you couldn't have units in the same hex as the leader who called for indirect fire shoot on the same impulse, that was definitely a bug.

Thanks!


(in reply to Sanrepy)
Post #: 3
RE: Onboard Mortar Spotting - 3/20/2014 2:27:28 AM   
Barthheart


Posts: 3165
Joined: 7/20/2004
From: Nepean, Ontario
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Tom Proudfoot

...
- You can still do indirect mortar fire vs. unspotted hexes as long as the leader has LOS to the hex. It's been like this forever and I'm pretty sure if it was wrong Barthheart would have said something.
...


Hey! .... yeah yer right....

And yes that is allowed.

_____________________________

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty & well preserved body,
but rather to skid in broadside, totally worn out & proclaiming "WOW, what a ride!"

(in reply to Tom Proudfoot)
Post #: 4
RE: Onboard Mortar Spotting - 3/20/2014 3:27:06 AM   
Horvo

 

Posts: 21
Joined: 5/22/2005
Status: offline
Thanks Tom. I think that's the correct way to implement it since it doesn't make sense that the leader could only call in mortars if the spot succeeded, since the hex doesn't need to be spotted in the first place. I'm also assuming that the leader still won't be able to call in mortars and lend its bonus to the fire from the squads in its hex at the same time. thanks again

(in reply to Tom Proudfoot)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Lock ‘n Load: Heroes of Stalingrad >> Onboard Mortar Spotting Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109