Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  31 32 [33] 34 35   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/5/2017 2:12:36 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7825
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: brian brian

I've been wondering about resources received via Trade Agreement. Specifically, let's say the USA picks Entry Option 15, Resources to Western Allies, and the next turn loand an Oil point to France.

Could the USA simply deliver one of the Oil resources coming in from Venezuela to the French port of Martinique?

With it's CP?

With a CW CP?

No the US could not because the rules say the US can't, but the CW could.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 961
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 6/9/2017 2:56:52 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
I thought this was a bug, posted a bug report in the tech forum and then retracted it on further consideration. Obviously I don't understand what's going on so I'm posting my confusion as a question. Well, really as an appeal for clarification as opposed to an actual question.

Here's the situation. It's the allied strategic bombing phase and the USAA is flying a B-17F strategic bombing mission against a German oil resource. The Germans elect to oppose this raid with all 4 shots (factors) for the adjacent Flakviehing anti-air unit. However, these 4 shots produce 0 rolls and thus, has no AA effect. At first I through this was a bug but on further reflection all this intuitively starting making sense to me. The German FLAK unit isn't of the caliber to reach the bombing altitudes of the Flying Fortress, which I would put at anywhere between 15,000 to 25,000 feet. However, from a game mechanics perspective I obviously don't understand what's at play here. Any insights on this would be greatly appreciated.




Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 962
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 6/9/2017 5:43:26 PM   
Dabrion


Posts: 735
Joined: 11/5/2013
From: Northpole
Status: offline
Think you have it right: in RAW7 light AA is halved vs LND4. 4AA vs 1bomber is ne. Question is why the game gives you a choice there.. but I guess the 4 pts would potentially be useful if there were more units.

< Message edited by Dabrion -- 6/9/2017 5:44:47 PM >


_____________________________

“WiF is like sex: sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it.”
- Richard P. Feynman, 'WiF, Sex, and the Dual Slit Experiment'.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 963
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 6/9/2017 5:49:43 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 8259
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
RAW:

Halve the AA factors fired by light AA units at a hex containing
only LND that took 4 or more turns to produce.


The AA gun is a light one, which means that you only get 4 AA factors against 1 bomber. That doesn't give you dice to roll.

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 964
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 6/10/2017 4:16:48 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Thanks. I guess I need to be more "calculated" when assigning AA to air attacks.

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 965
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 8/21/2017 12:52:27 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Here's the situation.
1. The allies are the phasing player.
2. The CW has taken a land and the French a combine.
3. CW (RN) only ships/subs in the West Med and Italian Coast.
4. CW (RN) and French ships and planes and Italian ships in the East Med.
5. The French initiate a successfully naval combat in the East Med that end with the surviving Italian ships having to abort.

The aborting Italian ships are able to return to base at La Speiza through either the Italian Coast or Western Med without the CW (i.e., RN) have a chance to intercept. Is this correct since the CW took a land and there's only RN ships in those two sea areas?

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 966
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 8/21/2017 5:07:43 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21584
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Here's the situation.
1. The allies are the phasing player.
2. The CW has taken a land and the French a combine.
3. CW (RN) only ships/subs in the West Med and Italian Coast.
4. CW (RN) and French ships and planes and Italian ships in the East Med.
5. The French initiate a successfully naval combat in the East Med that end with the surviving Italian ships having to abort.

The aborting Italian ships are able to return to base at La Speiza through either the Italian Coast or Western Med without the CW (i.e., RN) have a chance to intercept. Is this correct since the CW took a land and there's only RN ships in those two sea areas?

As always, it depends.

If the aborting 'ships' are subs, then they cannot be intercepted.

If the Commonwealth and Italy are not at war, then they cannot be intercepted.

If the Commonwealth ships are in too low a section box (the weather affects this decision), such that they have zero probability of successfully intercepting, then the program skips the unnecessary die roll and treats it as if the Commonwealth cannot intercept.

If the aborting ships can get to base through one of the sea areas, then the program assumes that is what the Italy player will do and there is no interception attempt. Italy could choose to go through a sea area that could possibly intercept them by using Ctrl Left Click - that is up the the Italy player.

EDIT: also, units that are disorganized cannot initiate an interception.

< Message edited by Shannon V. OKeets -- 8/21/2017 5:08:40 AM >


_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 967
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 8/21/2017 2:25:50 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Here's the situation.
1. The allies are the phasing player.
2. The CW has taken a land and the French a combine.
3. CW (RN) only ships/subs in the West Med and Italian Coast.
4. CW (RN) and French ships and planes and Italian ships in the East Med.
5. The French initiate a successfully naval combat in the East Med that end with the surviving Italian ships having to abort.

The aborting Italian ships are able to return to base at La Speiza through either the Italian Coast or Western Med without the CW (i.e., RN) have a chance to intercept. Is this correct since the CW took a land and there's only RN ships in those two sea areas?

As always, it depends.

If the aborting 'ships' are subs, then they cannot be intercepted.

If the Commonwealth and Italy are not at war, then they cannot be intercepted.

If the Commonwealth ships are in too low a section box (the weather affects this decision), such that they have zero probability of successfully intercepting, then the program skips the unnecessary die roll and treats it as if the Commonwealth cannot intercept.

If the aborting ships can get to base through one of the sea areas, then the program assumes that is what the Italy player will do and there is no interception attempt. Italy could choose to go through a sea area that could possibly intercept them by using Ctrl Left Click - that is up the the Italy player.

EDIT: also, units that are disorganized cannot initiate an interception.
I'm afraid none of those conditions apply. The French and CW are at war with Italy, the weather in West Med and Italian Coast is fine, the CW has ships/subs in the higher boxes of both and the Italians were aborting ships, not subs, back to La Speiza without the CW given a chance to intercept.

I take it then this is a bug?





Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 968
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 8/21/2017 2:27:22 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
game turn attached, in case it's a bug.

Do I need to make a post in the tech forum to officially report this bug?

Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 969
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 8/22/2017 5:46:25 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21584
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

game turn attached, in case it's a bug.

Do I need to make a post in the tech forum to officially report this bug?

I've added it to my task list to investigate.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 970
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 1:29:03 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Do the zoc's of inactive Vichy units prevent French partisans from being placed in hexes in occupied France?

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 971
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 2:04:39 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7825
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
AFAICS from the rules - they do. However it is questionable as to whether their ZoC constitutes an "enemy" ZoC for the purpose of denying the placement of a partisan since an inactive Vichy is neutral.

I'd say their ZoC doesn't matter.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 11/7/2017 2:08:33 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 972
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 2:33:49 AM   
jjdenver

 

Posts: 1858
Joined: 11/2/2007
Status: offline
I have another question. Do ground strikes affect air units in MWIF like they do in the boardgame? Or only land units?

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 973
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 2:47:14 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: jjdenver

I have another question. Do ground strikes affect air units in MWIF like they do in the boardgame? Or only land units?

I can answer this one. Well, I'm not sure what ground strikes do to air units in the board game ... but a ground strike against a hex with air units can disorganize (i.e., flip) those air units the same as ground units.

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to jjdenver)
Post #: 974
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 2:50:31 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

AFAICS from the rules - they do. However it is questionable as to whether their ZoC constitutes an "enemy" ZoC for the purpose of denying the placement of a partisan since an inactive Vichy is neutral.

I'd say their ZoC doesn't matter.
Do you know how MWiF plays it? For example, if I had an inactive Vichy unit adjacent to Bayonne, would MWiF let me place a French partisan there if one showed up?


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 975
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 5:55:20 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7825
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Sorry you'll have to try it.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 976
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 10:53:10 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21584
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

AFAICS from the rules - they do. However it is questionable as to whether their ZoC constitutes an "enemy" ZoC for the purpose of denying the placement of a partisan since an inactive Vichy is neutral.

I'd say their ZoC doesn't matter.
Do you know how MWiF plays it? For example, if I had an inactive Vichy unit adjacent to Bayonne, would MWiF let me place a French partisan there if one showed up?


I just tested this using a saved game. The Vichy units in Vichy exert ZOCs into Occupied France for the purposes of denying partisans.

But note that in your case, you would still have to cover Bordeaux to prevent a partisan there. And I don't believe the Vichy unit's ZOC wouldn't add to the Notional unit if Bayonne were to be invaded.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 977
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/7/2017 11:14:21 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

AFAICS from the rules - they do. However it is questionable as to whether their ZoC constitutes an "enemy" ZoC for the purpose of denying the placement of a partisan since an inactive Vichy is neutral.

I'd say their ZoC doesn't matter.
Do you know how MWiF plays it? For example, if I had an inactive Vichy unit adjacent to Bayonne, would MWiF let me place a French partisan there if one showed up?


I just tested this using a saved game. The Vichy units in Vichy exert ZOCs into Occupied France for the purposes of denying partisans.

But note that in your case, you would still have to cover Bordeaux to prevent a partisan there. And I don't believe the Vichy unit's ZOC wouldn't add to the Notional unit if Bayonne were to be invaded.
Thanks Steve. At least this will take some pressure of the Germans in having to cover southwest conquered France.


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 978
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 11/15/2017 11:45:48 PM   
Rondor11


Posts: 23
Joined: 3/13/2009
Status: offline
I just want to say that the enthusiasm with which the community supports newbs is really great. This threat is a winner.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 979
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/18/2017 1:09:44 PM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3450
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: online
For once I'm going to ask a basic question:

Is there an easy way to see which hexes have printed factories, if those factories have been railed out? Also, is there a way to see which factories aren't printed factories, if they have been railed in? One needs to know this for conquest. (Yes, one can open a different game, but that is not my definition of "easy".)

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Rondor11)
Post #: 980
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/18/2017 2:23:34 PM   
Orm


Posts: 17832
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
I am not sure if this qualifies as easy although it is definitely easier than opening a different game.

You can see it on the colour of the factory stack. So just remove all counters and look around. Green factories are railed in factories. And if the factory stack is an empty, white, stack then the factory has been railed out.

Several examples of railed out factories in the picture below. And the factory in Ufa is railed in.




Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Intend attacking at dawn high water.

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 981
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/18/2017 11:20:34 PM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3450
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

I am not sure if this qualifies as easy although it is definitely easier than opening a different game.

You can see it on the colour of the factory stack. So just remove all counters and look around. Green factories are railed in factories. And if the factory stack is an empty, white, stack then the factory has been railed out.

Several examples of railed out factories in the picture below. And the factory in Ufa is railed in.

Ah! Here is where my red-green colorblindness causes a problem!

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 982
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/19/2017 5:59:54 PM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3450
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: online
Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 983
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 2:03:04 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?




Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 984
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 1:29:57 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1964
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 985
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 1:31:52 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1964
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?


Without looking at the rules, and by the logics of the game no ---> USA is not at war so his convoys cannot be fired upon, however the SCSs and CVs are escorting so they can join the fray.




< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 4/9/2018 1:32:55 PM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 986
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 2:27:16 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?
Yes, at least as coded in MWiF. If I recall, I believe it's one unit a turn allowed to rail across straights. And by the way, I haven't yet found a way to "recall" if that limit has already been met except by trying to rail "another" unit across.

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?


Without looking at the rules, and by the logics of the game no ---> USA is not at war so his convoys cannot be fired upon, however the SCSs and CVs are escorting so they can join the fray.
Thanks. Just posted a bug report on this over in the tech section.


< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 4/9/2018 2:30:06 PM >


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 987
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 3:27:14 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?


Without looking at the rules, and by the logics of the game no ---> USA is not at war so his convoys cannot be fired upon, however the SCSs and CVs are escorting so they can join the fray.
Response by Centuur in the tech forum clarifies that this is no bug. That is, US CP's can be used to take losses while the US is still neutral if the US commits to combat.


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 988
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 5:47:36 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7825
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
No need to rush to judgement.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 989
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/9/2018 7:19:11 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 17825
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

No need to rush to judgement.

Copy that!

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 990
Page:   <<   < prev  31 32 [33] 34 35   next >   >>
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  31 32 [33] 34 35   next >   >>
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.199