From: Denver Colorado
This thread, and in particular your comments and clarifications, have brought together all of the varied posts and rules that I have read and collected through the years into one coherent whole.
Your posts, are as always, clear and concise.
Thank You for your hours of effort on our behalf.
"If a person has any greatness in them, it comes to light not in one flamboyant hour, but in the ledger of his daily work." Beryl Markham
You only need prep time for two (or three) things:
1) Amphibious landings
Possible 3) Negating your opponent's #2
You will never see a "preparation (+)" in the combat report, only "preparation (-)". That (-) occurs when the attacker's preparation is higher than the defenders.
If you are moving so quickly that you aren't prepped for the next base, then your opponent probably isn't prepped either. In a land war, prep isn't that important. It does make a difference in a small way, but in the grand scheme of a big push through Burma or China, it's not something you need to bother about.
Well and clearly said; I appreciate your insight and thoughts.