Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Calling out the Reserves

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> Calling out the Reserves Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Calling out the Reserves - 11/24/2013 8:12:22 AM   
Greyshaft


Posts: 2250
Joined: 10/27/2003
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: offline
Is there any reason not to call out the reserves when you are attacked (except Russian-Japanese war which is admittedly a special case)? Why would you only call out a few units instead of the whole lot?

_____________________________

/Greyshaft
Post #: 1
RE: Calling out the Reserves - 11/24/2013 9:05:15 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1810
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
Laziness, forgetfulness, feint, arrogance, and gentleman’s agreement.

_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Greyshaft)
Post #: 2
RE: Calling out the Reserves - 11/24/2013 9:15:06 AM   
delatbabel


Posts: 1250
Joined: 7/30/2006
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: offline
I usually have Leningrad fully stacked in anticipation of an Axis surprise marine attack. That makes it impossible to call out the Leningrad MIL on the first impulse. Once I have the luxury of leaving space in Leningrad later in the turn I call it out then.

_____________________________

--
Del

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 3
RE: Calling out the Reserves - 11/24/2013 10:40:13 AM   
Centuur


Posts: 8456
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: delatbabel

I usually have Leningrad fully stacked in anticipation of an Axis surprise marine attack. That makes it impossible to call out the Leningrad MIL on the first impulse. Once I have the luxury of leaving space in Leningrad later in the turn I call it out then.


You can't invade Leningrad. It hasn't an all sea hexside. So what you want to do here as Germany is against the rules...

What can happen is that a hex is already fully stacked, so you can't place a reserve unit (but I would consider that being bad play)...

< Message edited by Centuur -- 11/24/2013 11:41:34 AM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to delatbabel)
Post #: 4
RE: Calling out the Reserves - 11/24/2013 2:21:29 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Sometimes with the Soviets, I don't call out everyone right away; that first turn's blitz can be so fluid, and I'm not 100% sure which sectors will collapse first, that the idea of having a few more guys to place, even weak, face down guys, means that I can shore up a weaker sector as problems develop.



But even then, I call out all the soviet reserves about half the time right as soon as war is declared.

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> Calling out the Reserves Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109