Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

What are the rules when two Empires Invade

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Tech Support >> What are the rules when two Empires Invade Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
What are the rules when two Empires Invade - 2/10/2012 4:20:58 PM   
Donchik

 

Posts: 23
Joined: 1/12/2012
From: UK
Status: offline
Dear all,

As it says, what happens if two armies simultaneously invade a planet?

For example does the first invading army win, or the largest army, or is it random, or none of these?

Many thanks,

< Message edited by Donchik -- 2/10/2012 4:22:04 PM >


_____________________________

Donchik

Quote: "Three may keep a secret if two of them are dead!"
Post #: 1
RE: What are the rules when two Empires Invade - 2/10/2012 10:13:47 PM   
scotten_usa

 

Posts: 195
Joined: 12/9/2005
Status: offline
I think it's the invading empire with the most armies wins.

After bombing my enemy homeworld, one of their other races jumped in and landed troops before I could get my troop transports in place. The other race had ~ 4 armies and I had 35 & when combat ended, I owned the planet

(in reply to Donchik)
Post #: 2
RE: What are the rules when two Empires Invade - 2/11/2012 5:01:44 AM   
Kayoz


Posts: 1516
Joined: 12/20/2010
From: Timbuktu
Status: offline
I think the confusion arises from the CodeForce assumption that multiple armies are invading for control of a world, with all invaders on one side and defending residents on the other.

That works if A and B are both at war with C, but not with each other.

However, if A, B and C are all at war with each other - then the fight must be a 3-way scrum for supremacy. Why should your troops fight alongside the troops of your empire's enemy to fight another enemy... and at the end of the battle (assuming planet defenders beaten by the combined forces of the erstwhile enemies), the force with the lesser numbers quietly joins that of the force with more. They don't continue the fight for dominance once the defenders are dead - invaders never fight each other.

Sucks, but this is how it happens:
All planetary defenders fight planet inhabitants. When all defenders are dead, control goes to whomever has the MOST troops and ALL troops (regardless of previous ownership) on the planet become property of that empire.

It doesn't make any logical sense, but that's how it works. If you want it explained, you'll have to cross your fingers and hope that Elliot responds.

< Message edited by Kayoz -- 2/11/2012 5:03:49 AM >

(in reply to Donchik)
Post #: 3
RE: What are the rules when two Empires Invade - 2/11/2012 7:45:08 AM   
Donchik

 

Posts: 23
Joined: 1/12/2012
From: UK
Status: offline
Hi Kayoz,

Thanks for the gen.

Does not make any sense to me either, at the very least, you'd expect the smaller army to be ejected and returned to their masters.

When such an attack is underway, it's very difficult to see who has the most on the ground anyway. Maybe colour coding and the ability to pull out your forces might me useful.

Cheers,

_____________________________

Donchik

Quote: "Three may keep a secret if two of them are dead!"

(in reply to Kayoz)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Tech Support >> What are the rules when two Empires Invade Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.333