Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Beta tester question.

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Beta tester question. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Beta tester question. - 7/19/2011 5:17:43 PM   
stormbringer3

I have seen requests for beta testers lately, but I have never done anything like this before. I have been boardgaming and PC gaming for about 50 years so I feel that I have the needed gaming experience. If I was to volunteer as a beta tester what would I be getting myself into?
Any opinions are welcome.
Post #: 1
RE: Beta tester question. - 7/19/2011 5:32:48 PM   
JudgeDredd

A fair bit of work. You don't need to be hard at it 24/7 - but a fair bit of dedicated time is required.

A couple of points that might put you off
1. You don't "play" the game - you are looking for bugs. So playing isn't really top of the agenda...of course you play - but with an eye to catching things that aren't right or don't look right - not with an eye to enjoying yourself
2. You get to know the intricacies of the game - and that can be off putting as the game mechanics become transparent and that sometimes takes away from the illusion of gaming
3. As much as you want to, you can't tell anyone anything about the game as you have signed an NDA (non disclosure agreement)

It's very rewarding catching things that don't seem to work right. It's nice when the game gets released and you've helped have a hand in what it has become (albeit late in the day) - and it can be fun.