Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Move to Gaul exploit?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Ancients] >> Hannibal: Rome and Carthage in the Second Punic War >> Move to Gaul exploit? Page: [1]
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Move to Gaul exploit? - 3/31/2011 1:32:14 PM   


Posts: 141
Joined: 3/31/2005
Status: offline
When Senate authorizes a move to Gaul, I often use a naval movement from Carthage to try to land in Narbonese Gaul (an area that prompts an incomplete move screen). The game kicks back my army to Spain... an exploit or a feature? I never feel guilty using this trick, since you sail to southern Gaul or northern Iberia in more or less the same direction from Carthage. However, this trick does allow for an increased chance to meddle in affairs of Spain... a historic Carthaginian Senate may agree, but the game designer may not.
Post #: 1
RE: Move to Gaul exploit? - 4/1/2011 5:06:23 AM   

Posts: 632
Joined: 7/6/2010
Status: offline
You have discovered a quirk of the game.

When the Carthaginian Senate authorizes you to send forces to Gaul you may move armies from Africa to Spain because Spain is "on the way." In that case, moving an army by sea from Africa to the area in Spain north of the Pyrenees is taken by the game as a move to Spain itself - which is legal. The army is placed in the operational area of Spain.

So this isn't really an exploit. I allowed this because it seems reasonably logical. But I can see now that this feature is not sufficiently well documented. There is some mention of the general "on the way" rule in one of the tutorials, I believe. The manual needs more explicit information. One more thing for the next minor revision.

This rule also operates when Spain is the authorized theater and you want to take an army from Italy to Spain; you may enter Gaul under those circumstances. You will probably never need to do this, of course.

The area of Narbonese Gaul only gets that special treatment (the move-completion dialog) when you move an army which is already in Spain across the Pyrenees to that area.


James Warshawsky
Forced March Games, LLC

(in reply to nalivayko)
Post #: 2
RE: Move to Gaul exploit? - 4/1/2011 2:50:00 PM   


Posts: 141
Joined: 3/31/2005
Status: offline
I don't know. Sometimes I forget to leave Mago in Gaul during the first turn. It's nice to know he can return to Gaul when move to Spain is authorized.

Thank you for the explanation.

(in reply to mercenarius)
Post #: 3
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Ancients] >> Hannibal: Rome and Carthage in the Second Punic War >> Move to Gaul exploit? Page: [1]
Jump to:

New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI