Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Movement cost bug?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Ancients] >> Hannibal: Rome and Carthage in the Second Punic War >> Movement cost bug? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Movement cost bug? - 10/7/2010 2:43:21 PM   
Bullman

 

Posts: 29
Joined: 7/2/2005
Status: offline
I have Hannibal in Cisalpine Gaul and wanted to move him back to Spain. My senate decree is set to "Reinforce Spain" but I wasn't 100% sure I could get Hannibal there because I believe he has to enter Gaul first (as Genua was Roman) before he can get to Spain. This seemed like it would require at least an "extended march" card (which I had).

A further complication was that Emporiom (the coastal city controlling the pass through the Pyrenees Mountains) was also under Roman control. A "secret mountain pass" card could let me bypass this obstruction and avoid any "mountain attrition" costs.

I therefore calculated, to avoid any attrition getting to Spain, I would have to use 2 cards:

a) my "extended march" card to cross two boundaries to get to Spain via Gaul from Cisalpine Gaul
b) a "secret mountain pass" card to cross from Gaul in to Spain to avoid "mountain attrition".

Without playing any cards, I was surprised when I just activated Hannibal in Cisalpine Gaul and dragged him directly in to Spain. The game just informed me that I may be subject to "mountain attrition" and if I wanted to play a card. I selected "Yes" and I picked the "secret mountain pass" and I was in Spain.

Maybe I have missed something but it seems that the game ignored the fact that in theory I actually needed to first move to Gaul before moving across the Pyrenees in to Spain, therefore needing to play an "extended march" card as well.

The manual says "Armies may move directly between Northern Italy and Spain if the city of Genua is under
friendly control and is free of siege. Otherwise armies must take Genua by storm or make an
intermediate move through Gaul. This will either then require an extra turn to complete the
move, or the army must make an Extended Move."

If I instead drag the army counter first to Gaul, then move it to Spain, I am instead informed of possible "extended march attrition" and of "mountain attrition", as I would have expected.

I have a saved file to demonstrate this if required.
Post #: 1
RE: Movement cost bug? - 10/7/2010 11:00:09 PM   
mercenarius


Posts: 577
Joined: 7/6/2010
Status: offline
This is in fact a bug, and will be corrected in the next patch. Thanks for the offer of the saved game. That was thoughtful. Fortunately this is easy to check and to duplicate.

Thanks for pointing this out.

_____________________________

James Warshawsky
Forced March Games, LLC

(in reply to Bullman)
Post #: 2
RE: Movement cost bug? - 10/8/2010 4:01:56 AM   
Bullman

 

Posts: 29
Joined: 7/2/2005
Status: offline
Great, always happy to offer my assistance to help a great game like this.

Now just clarifying...with Hannibal in Cisalpine Gaul and a Carthagian senate decree to "reinforce Spain", should I be allowed to move Hannibal (or any other general) to Gaul regardless of whether or not I continue on to Spain, or is this part of the bug as well? I know the manual says "However, remember that your forces may travel through a theatre on their way to another one if there is no reasonable alternate path. For example, if the Senate allows you to send forces to Italy you may send a fleet into the Ionian Sea (part of the Theatre of Sicily) as that zone is “on the way.” You can use this to your advantage".

(in reply to mercenarius)
Post #: 3
RE: Movement cost bug? - 10/8/2010 6:23:47 AM   
mercenarius


Posts: 577
Joined: 7/6/2010
Status: offline
Yes, you may do this. But remember that you'll suffer Gallic Attrition in such a case unless you have put Gallic Aid into effect.

_____________________________

James Warshawsky
Forced March Games, LLC

(in reply to Bullman)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Ancients] >> Hannibal: Rome and Carthage in the Second Punic War >> Movement cost bug? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109