Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

River Crossing Combat Question

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> River Crossing Combat Question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
River Crossing Combat Question - 4/22/2010 7:08:48 PM   
Sorta

 

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/30/2009
Status: offline
Hi all,

Does the river crossing combat modifier apply if you attack from a non-river hex after crossing a river previously i.e. move 1 cross river, move 2 move onto enemy (on same side of the river)

Regards
Post #: 1
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/22/2010 7:37:52 PM   
Ted1066


Posts: 214
Joined: 12/10/2007
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Status: offline
No, the river crossing modifier only counts if you cross the river/strait INTO an enemy unit's hex. E.g. your France and you have an army in Julich (Cologne). If you moved across the river to engage an enemy in Berg, the river crossing would apply. However, if you crossed the river and engaged an enemy in Hesse (2 areas away from Julich), the river crossing would NOT apply.

Clear?

Cheers,

Ted

(in reply to Sorta)
Post #: 2
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/22/2010 8:52:58 PM   
Sorta

 

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/30/2009
Status: offline
many thanks - that is how it should be but wasn't crystal clear from the rules.

(in reply to Ted1066)
Post #: 3
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/23/2010 1:05:21 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
Thanks Ted!

_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to Sorta)
Post #: 4
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/23/2010 2:09:00 PM   
Sorta

 

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/30/2009
Status: offline
Actually just tested it last night and the army still suffers the river modifier for crossing a river even though the army attacks from a non-river hex last.


(in reply to Marshall Ellis)
Post #: 5
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/26/2010 1:57:18 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
Really? I would love to see a save if you have one?


_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to Sorta)
Post #: 6
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/28/2010 2:50:46 AM   
Dancing Bear

 

Posts: 1003
Joined: 2/21/2008
Status: offline
I tried to recreate this, and it was working properly for me.

Note that even if part of the attacking force crosses the river into the area of combat, then the river bonus/penalty applies. Is this what might have happened?

(in reply to Marshall Ellis)
Post #: 7
RE: River Crossing Combat Question - 4/28/2010 3:03:43 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
I tried to recreate this morning as well and could not??? Maybe related to specific areas???



_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to Dancing Bear)
Post #: 8
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> River Crossing Combat Question Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.111