Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

To Memoir '44 owners

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> To Memoir '44 owners Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 10:13:56 AM   
JudgeDredd


Posts: 8573
Joined: 11/14/2003
From: Scotland
Status: offline
I was a bit thrown when I played my first game.

Are all cards command cards which allow you to move OR attack OR move AND attack?

I was a bit thrown by the fact that the cards had Recon, Probe, Attack, Assault as the "header"....I was wondering where the movement cards where...but I presume they all allow you to move units and attack with units in the specified sectors?

I don't want to have beaten my daughter unfairly!!!
Post #: 1
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 11:55:12 AM   
JeF


Posts: 1170
Joined: 4/1/2003
From: Belgium
Status: offline
Hi Judge,

Please, read the Law ...err... I mean, the manual.

Speaking from my experience of Battlelore, but Memoir 44 should be the same.

Names on cards are just for "immersion factor".
You activate the specified number of units (and eventually unit type) in the mentioned sector.
Each activated unit can move AND/OR attack, depending of its type, and the number of hexes it has moved. You have to check each unit capabilities.

I hope this helps,

JeF.

_____________________________

Rendez-vous at Loenen before 18:00.
Don't loose your wallet !
Conquest Of The Aegean Web Development Team
The Drop Zone

(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 2
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:05:35 PM   
JudgeDredd


Posts: 8573
Joined: 11/14/2003
From: Scotland
Status: offline
I did read the manual. It said you pull a command card and move or fight. I thought I was playing wrong because the card said "assault" which clearly is an attack (albeit with movement). So I was just a bit thrown is all.

One other thing, whilst I've got your attention. It's either not covered in the manual, or I can't remember it/couldn't find it....when you have your command cards and you can do nothing (my daughter had teo Recon cards for the centre section and 2 Assault cards for the left flank but had no troops in either of these sections) what is the procedure? I just let her discard a card and pull a new one and used that as her turn. Is that right?

I even watched the online video on how to play at memoir '44 and it didn't say anything in that.

I guess I was right to have her discard a card and get a new one. But what about using that as her turn? Also, if she pulls another card which cannot be used, does she just have to take it and discard another card next turn?

as I said, this feature is not covered, although we played much longer than we had to last night, so it might be that that particular scenario might not arise.

(in reply to JeF)
Post #: 3
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:06:03 PM   
sterckxe


Posts: 4605
Joined: 3/30/2004
From: Flanders
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: JudgeDredd
I don't want to have beaten my daughter unfairly!!!


You've beaten her because she caught you cheating ?

For the rest : what JeF said

Greetz,

Eddy Sterckx




(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 4
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:07:06 PM   
JudgeDredd


Posts: 8573
Joined: 11/14/2003
From: Scotland
Status: offline
Nah...read the manual...just confused a bit is all with the names on the cards...but if they're for immersion (which I suspected) then that's fine.

(in reply to sterckxe)
Post #: 5
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:23:48 PM   
JeF


Posts: 1170
Joined: 4/1/2003
From: Belgium
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: JudgeDredd
One other thing, whilst I've got your attention. It's either not covered in the manual, or I can't remember it/couldn't find it....when you have your command cards and you can do nothing (my daughter had teo Recon cards for the centre section and 2 Assault cards for the left flank but had no troops in either of these sections) what is the procedure? I just let her discard a card and pull a new one and used that as her turn. Is that right ?


IIRC, yes. You can discard a card and pull a new one.

JeF.


_____________________________

Rendez-vous at Loenen before 18:00.
Don't loose your wallet !
Conquest Of The Aegean Web Development Team
The Drop Zone

(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 6
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:31:55 PM   
105mm Howitzer


Posts: 447
Joined: 8/9/2007
From: Montreal, Quebec
Status: offline
Yo Judge, heads up. The headers are just that, headers. ( I guess to add some flavoring) Essentially you can move and shoot or just move or shoot. The card should indicate which action you take, and yeah, it affects units belonging to one sector only.
As for discards, it's exactly that. You remove one card, draw another and pass. Believe me, I spent a few unhappy movements doing squat. They justify that by claiming command having a near-panic fit, thus unable to issue ( coherent) orders. Such does not happen often, however.
I haven't played it in a while, but if you got more questions, don't hesitate.
Cheers
MC

_____________________________

"Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum" - Publius Renatus, 390 A.D.

(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 7
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:46:33 PM   
JudgeDredd


Posts: 8573
Joined: 11/14/2003
From: Scotland
Status: offline
thx all...I just wanted to make sure I kicked my daughters arse legitimately!

(in reply to 105mm Howitzer)
Post #: 8
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 12:48:17 PM   
JudgeDredd


Posts: 8573
Joined: 11/14/2003
From: Scotland
Status: offline
I have to say, it felt nice rolling the dice again. And I can see myself playing solo on it, because I can detach myself from one side to play correctly on the other

(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 9
RE: To Memoir '44 owners - 8/1/2008 2:03:17 PM   
105mm Howitzer


Posts: 447
Joined: 8/9/2007
From: Montreal, Quebec
Status: offline
This game is totally soloable, due largely in part to the unique card system. In fact, I find that I replay the same round using different cards just to see what could have happened.

_____________________________

"Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum" - Publius Renatus, 390 A.D.

(in reply to JudgeDredd)
Post #: 10
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> To Memoir '44 owners Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.286